Just pay me what you owe me.

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm a Freelancer! Sometimes I'll field a Merc army, but I find the trade off too high. Orba is a killer, but all I get for it is 3 re-rolls (which I forget about or misuse). If I go Freelance I get a huge selection of models, the best of the best. Tactics? All over the place. I field archer heavy armies, magic heavy, fast attack, big solos and min troops. I'll change the lineup just to try something new. I don't play horde armies, but I could. And I usually play Good Freelance. I'm trying to branch out, try some Evil, see what happens.

I normally play mercs, following Orba rules even if I don't use Orba (only one non merc data card). At 1000 pts (or standard game so far) I have been finding the Lupine Lord being my "Go To Killa". Blowthrough, High Dis., and some magic items, makes him worth more than twice his points. Stepping out of melee (automatic unless wounded or vs. Necro) and shooting is better than 2 +4 attacks.

Nicole of the Blade is another awesome buy, just for the tactician ability. I try to fit in at least one other shooty unit, if not two.

My standard list usually includes:

Lupine Lord with Shaman plus ragers/grunts

Nicole with Crossbows and possibly wizard

Sigurd plus grunts

Soulcannon or Elves

going to 1500, I would definitely include Orba. The low cost of the grunts should enable you to outnumber most opponents. Orba's ability to snipe another data card should be used either for a second shooting unit, or possibly a cheaper cleric, since the Shaman is unique, and Orba can benefit from his own cleric.

Couple of tricks with the Cleric: Teleport the Soulcannon into position or cast speed on the speed boosted Lupine Lord to line up the best shots early.

No matter what configuration I use, the Lupine Lord is always the Top Killa, and is an awesome scuplt anyways....