Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
All-Terrain Monkey

Asylum Testing August 26 2005

Recommended Posts

Shifting Base to Base Contact

Once a model is in base to base contact with an enemy model it may not shift position or "slide" against that base to base contact. The only allowed movement is what is already delineated in the Attacker Adjust/Defender Adjust rules on page 61. Note that a model can always succeed a discipline check to break close combat and move position (p. 58, Leaving Close Combat). The model would still need to move away from base to base contact and then enter into base to base contact in the desired spot; sliding would not work since any base-to-base contact with an enemy model ends movement (p. 58, Base-to-base Contact with an Enemy Model). Thus, a model that has attackers on opposite sides would not be able to slide out from them.

 

Ok, this seemed to have been passed over by me, since we got caught up in talking about LOS and base sizes.

 

But, came up in a recent game.

 

Could someone official please give clarification on this. In one sentence you say that putting 2 models in b2b on opposite sides of an enemy prevents him from sliding. Then in the next sentence it says, "but they can still break b2b with a successful roll"

 

So, just trying to get varification... please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ok, this seemed to have been passed over by me, since we got caught up in talking about LOS and base sizes.

 

But, came up in a recent game.

 

Could someone official please give clarification on this. In one sentence you say that putting 2 models in b2b on opposite sides of an enemy prevents him from sliding. Then in the next sentence it says, "but they can still break b2b with a successful roll"

 

So, just trying to get varification... please.

It does not say "but they can still break b2b with a successful roll" in the next sentence, it says that in a previous sentence, and that makes all the difference. The rule is saying that you cannot slide. If you are able to break away from an enemy, move to the desired position, and reenter B2B, then cool. But if you have models on either side of you, then you are stuck, since it would be impossible to move away without sliding.

Hope that helps! ^_^

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Could someone official please give clarification on this. In one sentence you say that putting 2 models in b2b on opposite sides of an enemy prevents him from sliding. Then in the next sentence it says, "but they can still break b2b with a successful roll"

That is not the order of the sentences. First it describes how to reposition contact with an enemy model by breaking contact and then moving back into contact since it is illegal to slide along an enemy base. Then it explains that this is not possible if there are enemy models on opposite sides of the moving model since there is no way for such a model to move except by sliding along an enemy model's edge. I suppose the unfortunate use of the word "always" in the first part is what is causing the confusion.

 

Rich

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't read that at all Stubb.

 

It says you can make your standard Attacker/Defender Adjustments per rules on page 61.

It says you cannot slide. It then explains why:

You can always attempt to break base to base contact with a successful discipline check.

However...

Movement is stopped as soon as you make base to base contact with an Enemy model.

Therefore you cannot slide, since it would be impossible for you to move, if there is a model on the opposite side since base to base contact will always exist.

 

If there is no second Enemy model, you still cannot slide for free. You can however break base to base contact with an enemy model, conduct a movement action and essentially step away and return to a more desirable position.

 

Added: Damn I typed too slow, Gus and Rich both started responding after me, and still finished first.

Edited by Qwyksilver

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Note that a model can always succeed a discipline check to break close combat and move position (p. 58, Leaving Close Combat).

This is the point of contention.

 

Rich

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...