Newbie here: What is Warlord?

What is Warlord, how do you play, and what do you need in order to play? Can I get started on a few dollars, or will I need hundreds of figures? Is the game appropriate for young children (8-10 yrs), or is it more of a teens and adults thing? Anything else that you think a new/potential player should learn would be appreciated as well. Thanks in advance!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

How to play: a little complicated, but here's a really (REALLY) brief summary of the basic game mechanic-

Dice are used to determine the results of things like combat and spells. For Warlord we use 10 sided dice. You roll the dice, add in the appropriate skill (Melee skill, Magic skill, whatever) and if you beat the appropriate defense stat you succeed.

You need: some 10 sided dice, some 6 sided dice (keeping track of wounds), measuring implement, and models to represent your troops. There is a gallery at http://www.reapermini.com/gallery/warlord that shows the models for the game (but feel free to use proxies, I know I do).

Number of figs: depends on game size. The Starter sets include around 10 to 12 models and that's enough for small games.

Money: Basic starter (for 1 player)-$39.95. There are Deluxe Starters that go for $69.95 but have more included. There is also a two player starter for $69.95. These are the quickest way to get started. Models themselves can range from $5 (single characters) to around $14 (packs of troops) to $30 (big critters).

Age: Depends on what you mean by appropriate. There isn't graphic horror or things like that. I'd say about 12+ (in my very unofficial opinion).

The basic rule is: