finding a job shouldn't be this hard

cristomeyers

I graduated college about a month ago. Had a job lined up, but the office moved to Downtown Chicago (a 30 min train ride and 20+ block walk away from where I live) and I wasn't making nearly enough to justify that, the train rides alone would run almost a full day's pay (even if I bought the bulk pass). I quit, mostly because of that, but also because it was door-to-door sales (a fact hidden until the second round interview and I had no other options). I've been unemployed for about 2 1/2 weeks now, and I've been putting in applications for other jobs for almost 5.

Now, I know that the HR dept of most places is too busy to actually call me if the answer is no thank you. But I'm really getting sick of calling them, getting a 20 minute runaround, and ending up hanging up without ever talking to whoever's in charge of hiring (Best Buy, After Hours Formalwear). All I want is a quick answer, yes, no, or I haven't gotten to it. Not that hard.

Then there's the personality exams that every online application has that I inevitably fail (damn me an my honesty). Here's the thing, my old workplace, Pizza Hut, had to make me reapply the first time I came back from college because I had to quit rather than go on leave of absence (policy wouldn't allow one long enough). It was a formality, they were going to hire me anyway. I failed, but I held that job for almost 5 years and was Employee of the Month 3 times and was next in line to become manager (despite my age).

The kicker came just yesterday. A nearby Target had Now Hiring signs up, one of which read "Hourly Supervisors" I go in, spend an hour total filling out their application, actually get to talk to the hiring manager, sign the application, and find out "We're only hiring for the overnight shifts, so I really can't help you."