Jump to content

Necropolis - Crimson Knights


Hellsgate
 Share

Recommended Posts

In a reascent game, I played against the vampires for the fist time, in order to stop them from feeding and regaining the wound I chose to loot my own models. My thinking being that you can't perform a loot action on a model that has already been looted and therefore stoping the feeding. The move was allowed but for future reference I would like confirmation on wether it should have been one way or another.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

In a reascent game, I played against the vampires for the fist time, in order to stop them from feeding and regaining the wound I chose to loot my own models. My thinking being that you can't perform a loot action on a model that has already been looted and therefore stoping the feeding. The move was allowed but for future reference I would like confirmation on wether it should have been one way or another.

You can loot your own models, no problem. This in no way stops the vampires from feeding on them, since they feed on casualties as well as stunned models. You would actually have to pick up the corpse with another model and carry it around to prevent feeding.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The vamps were a nightmare the last battle I had against them. I'll take having to worry about a tough/1 check on a model I've CdG'd over those dang undead getting up and refeeding to full strength over and over. If a full strength Crimson knight kills you in HtH don't even bother with a defensive strike. When he coups you with his next action he's back up to full even if you manage to hit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not true, OS, at least not entirely. The defensive strike is still very worthwhile if a) the vamp had to move to get to you (wherein he must wait until his next activation to feed on the corpse, giving you a chance to activate first and then kill a wounded model that is easier to hit), or b) if there was no movement involved, and the attacks occur along any sort of offset formations (commonly used to get support bonuses) - double up those defensive strikes on a single model and attempt to take a vamp out entirely. If you get lucky, that can prevent at least one feeding from occuring. Finally, if you do even cause just a single point, you force your opponent to use that model immediately for feeding; this gives them one less option to feed on the next round. Make them waste actions on looting your bodies to get better, rather than being able to move off to engage something else.

 

Every point of damage you do counts, no matter how or when you score it.

 

~v

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can loot your own models, no problem. This in no way stops the vampires from feeding on them, since they feed on casualties as well as stunned models. You would actually have to pick up the corpse with another model and carry it around to prevent feeding.

 

:rock: Hmmm.... I was under the impression that by looting your own models you prevent Vampiric Feeding -- the reason being that a model can be looted only once and in order to use Vampiric Feeding, a model must perform a Loot Non-Combat Action.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here is why I ruled that "Looting" could be performed as per pg 60 1st Printing Rule Book :

"Remove Casulalties

After a Looting Action , the casualty Token of fallen Model should be removed from the table "

There it is in black and white , so NO , a Vampire can not feed on a already looted model .

Ahh, my mistake. Here I was using common sense and logic in thinking that looting a corpse meant you, well, LOOTED a corpse. What exactly does looting a corpse actually mean, now? Everyone has a portable corpse blender and a waste disposal bag? I guess I could accept this from a gameplay balance standpoint, if this truely the intended result.

 

I would, however, like an official ruling on it. The way the rule is written makes me think they are just saying that because in the original game, there was nothing else you could do to a looted corpse so you might as well pick it up.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think an official ruling is necessary, given the text that Brushmaster quoted, but you're free to ask ::D: . Once the model or token is removed, there's nothing left to perform an action on. Regarding what "looting" actually means, the paragraph on page 67 of the core book (under the heading "What are Bounty Points?") explains that the term "loot" is a catch-all term for a variety of things that different factions will do with the body of a fallen friend or foe.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Another question:

Does looting a nefsokar model, prevent other Nef's from teleporting to the location of the now dead model?

 

Since it looks like Looting removed the dead model completely, I would assume that body is no longer valid for teleportation. Is this correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In the case you are playing Vampires, one way to look at Looting is not so much "gathering the deceased's stuff" as it is "slashing the corpse's throat to drain all of the blood to deny the Vamps their buffet". ^_^:lol:

 

Wild Bill :blues:

Won't someone think of the poor hungry Vampires? ::(: Vampires need love too... :upside:

 

Yeah, looks like Nefsokar get kicked a little here too, since now everyone can perform a magical voodoo loot action to keep the corpse from being teleported to. :huh:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...