Sign in to follow this  
madams1971

I need some beginner advice

I painted minis as a kid, but hadn't painted any until about two years ago, when I started painting again. Up till now, I've always used a pretty simple method of painting. I just paint a base coat/color, and then apply a black wash (black paint heavily diluted in water) to add a shadow effect. Just recently, I decided to try the more in-depth method in painting a base coat, then shadowing, then highlighting, and then applying a gloss coat. But I've got a few questions from my first attempt, which has left me frustrated with my results.

First, since I'm trying the more involved method for the first time, should I just stick to using the colors out of the bottle for my base coats instead of trying to mix colors? I've got a pretty good selection of the standard Reaper paints and some Games Workshop paints. If I do mix paints for base coats, what tools are best for mixing them in? How do I keep them from drying out in case I have to use them later to correct a mistake? Should I just pour them out of the bottle, or use a dropper or something? And how do I know what colors to mix to get other colors? Are there any references or rules of thumb? I found out I'm not very good at making up my own.

Next, I think I know what a wash is -- diluting a color in water so it settles in the crevices. How do I know what color to use for a shadowing wash for my base coats? Is there a good rule of thumb? Do I simply use the next darker shade of a color from the base coat color? If I mix colors for a base coat color, do I use the darkest color in the mixture for the wash, or do I use some other color or more than one color for the wash?