Hello and glad to meet ya!

Newt

Hello everyone and happy Saturday night.

I'm relatively new to the world of minis and have read enough over the last few days to make my old, tired brain explode. I have this crazy urge to try to paint a mini for myself but have these problems:

1) Severe lack of talent

2) Shaky hands

3) Bad eyesight

But, I can follow directions and I'm a good learner, even if I don't have that artistic eye. What I've done is read many of the threads on this site along with all the Craft articles. I've also looked at ( easily ) 150+ painted minis across this and various other sites to get an idea of what a bad/ok/decent/good/great/spectacular mini looks like after it's finished. Even though I can't do much more than draw a stick figure, I do have an appreciation for well-done art and that's exactly what I believe some of the minis I've seen are - works of art.

So, here's my plan, which is ready to be tweaked, modified, reworked, or even plain scrapped after seeing what you guys think:

- Buy a mini that I like but isn't full of detail. Maybe something like these:

Two-handed Melee

Cleric in Plate

- Buy either the Learn To Paint Kit #1 or #3. I know they come with their own minis, but I want my first mini to be one that I'm actually interested in painting. I can use the ones that come with the kit to practice the different techniques I see you guys discussing.

- Acquire the thinning agent I choose to use for washes, etc. I've read about many of the different 'solutions' and will just pick one to start with and see how it works for me.

- Paint and cuss.