Jump to content

Sign in to follow this  
shakhak

-1 Partial Obstruction Penalty - LOS question

Recommended Posts

Partially Obstructed Line of Sight

Any object inside the LOS 1/2 inch corridor may possibly affect and even Block LOS and the resolution of actions differently depending on the size of the obstructing object. Any object that crosses the 1mm centerline of the LOS corridor will generally block LOS.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is a Smaller Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is any Base Size Value SMALLER than either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value, can cross the 1mm centerline and not Block LOS.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is a Larger Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is any Base Size Value LARGER than either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value (whichever is the largest) will always Block LOS, even if it does not cross the 1mm centerline.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is an Equal Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is EQUAL to the largest Base Size Value of either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value (whichever is the largest) will only Block LOS if it crosses the 1mm centerline.

 

Line of Sight Corridor Partially Obstructed To Target

(-1) Partially Obstructed Line of Sight Corridor To Target

This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier is applied anytime a Partially Obstructed Line of Sight situation occurs. This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier cannot stack with any other Cover Penalty.

 

Those are the rules as of the LOS FAQ on Reaper games.

 

My question:

If an archer is taking cover behind a 0 size wall, and he fires over the wall to hit opponents. Does this mean that no matter what he shoots at, his LOS is obstructed and he recieves a -1 Ranged combat situational modifier?

 

Crappy Drawing:

A = Archer

|| = Wall

T = Target

- - = LOS corridor

 

A - || - - - - - - T

 

The 0 wall is smaller than his 1 base, so it does not Block LOS. It does cross the center line of LOS, so it is an obstruction. So it creates the -1 modifier.

 

 

 

Thanks for the clarification guys!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm. I have always taken it to be that if someone is using a low wall as cover they got the benefit of the obstruction, but not the penalty of dealing with the wall. I have thought of it as when he fires, the archer leans out over the wall so that he can see the entire section in front of him rather than blindly shooting from behind the wall.

 

If you read the rules literally though, he would have to deal with it. I dunno...hmmm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Partially Obstructed Line of Sight

Any object inside the LOS 1/2 inch corridor may possibly affect and even Block LOS and the resolution of actions differently depending on the size of the obstructing object. Any object that crosses the 1mm centerline of the LOS corridor will generally block LOS.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is a Smaller Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is any Base Size Value SMALLER than either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value, can cross the 1mm centerline and not Block LOS.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is a Larger Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is any Base Size Value LARGER than either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value (whichever is the largest) will always Block LOS, even if it does not cross the 1mm centerline.

 

Obstruction (Terrain or Model) is an Equal Base Size Value

Any obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is EQUAL to the largest Base Size Value of either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value (whichever is the largest) will only Block LOS if it crosses the 1mm centerline.

 

Line of Sight Corridor Partially Obstructed To Target

(-1) Partially Obstructed Line of Sight Corridor To Target

This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier is applied anytime a Partially Obstructed Line of Sight situation occurs. This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier cannot stack with any other Cover Penalty.

 

Those are the rules as of the LOS FAQ on Reaper games.

 

My question:

If an archer is taking cover behind a 0 size wall, and he fires over the wall to hit opponents. Does this mean that no matter what he shoots at, his LOS is obstructed and he recieves a -1 Ranged combat situational modifier?

 

Crappy Drawing:

A = Archer

|| = Wall

T = Target

- - = LOS corridor

 

A - || - - - - - - T

 

The 0 wall is smaller than his 1 base, so it does not Block LOS. It does cross the center line of LOS, so it is an obstruction. So it creates the -1 modifier.

 

 

 

Thanks for the clarification guys!

 

Line of Sight Corridor Partially Obstructed To Target

(-1) Partially Obstructed Line of Sight Corridor To Target

This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier is applied anytime a Partially Obstructed Line of Sight situation occurs. This Ranged Combat Situational Modifier cannot stack with any other Cover Penalty.

 

Well problem number one, is we dont actually tell you when this occurs. This occurs when the obstructing item in the 1/2 inch LOS corridor, Cover (Page 66) or Model (Page 53), that is EQUAL to the largest Base Size Value of either the attacker or the defender's Base Size Value (whichever is the largest) and doesnt cross the 1mm centerline. Because if it did cross the line, the corridor would be blocked. Now if the Object was larger than the largest and anywhere in there, its also blocked. And if its smaller than the larger, then it doesnt matter where it is in the corridor. It could be all the way across the line, and it wouldn't block NOR would it partially obstruct.

 

So how do you get cover from the wall you might ask. Thats the answer itself; the wall is cover and therefore the model attempting to use it must be making appropriate use of it (within 2" and the shot must cross it) and the size of the wall must be that to where it would provide cover. This is outlined on pages 66 and 67 of the core rulebook.

 

on a related subject, we're working on a simplified (hopefully) version of LOS for CAV. If it works out well, theres a good chance we'll incorporate it into Warlord. You can take a look at it for yourself here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×