Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
merlonc

drop infantry and assault

Recommended Posts

The general concensus I have heard on drop infantry is that deployment counts as 1 action. What about assault making that a free action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Drop infantry operates a little differently from other infantry. They don't deploy during the Deployment Phase. At the beginning of any game turn, a player with Drop Infantry adds 1 Initiative Card to the deck for each Drop Infantry section. When one of your Initiative Cards is turned over, you may activate the Drop Infantry if you wish. You can place them anywhere, but not within 12" of an enemy Model. I don't see where it would cost you an action, it's just another deployment.

 

That's just a summary, the description of Drop Infantry SA is found in more detail on p. 115 of the rule book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, I would like to get Reaper based clarification on exactly what it means in the late deployment. This would affect both drop infantry as well as the one related to gunships.

 

You can add a card to the deck and when one of your cards comes up you can deploy anywhere within the limitations. Ok, that makes sense..

 

But, is that it? Can it do anything that same turn, or is the deployment all it can do for that turn? Are you deploying it on the other edge of the board simply to be a sitting duck for the other player to feed on, or can it actually be of use on the turn deployed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
But, is that it? Can it do anything that same turn, or is the deployment all it can do for that turn? Are you deploying it on the other edge of the board simply to be a sitting duck for the other player to feed on, or can it actually be of use on the turn deployed?

I was just about to ask the same question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Actually, I would like to get Reaper based clarification on exactly what it means in the late deployment. This would affect both drop infantry as well as the one related to gunships.

 

You can add a card to the deck and when one of your cards comes up you can deploy anywhere within the limitations. Ok, that makes sense..

 

But, is that it? Can it do anything that same turn, or is the deployment all it can do for that turn? Are you deploying it on the other edge of the board simply to be a sitting duck for the other player to feed on, or can it actually be of use on the turn deployed?

 

Seems to me it wouldn't be of much use unless they could act right away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although I agree, I have seen several examples where my conclusions and assumptions were wrong. There have been plenty of instances where the response I have been given from Reaper has been if its not in the text then its not in the text and dont assume it (like with the Templar docterine where you would assume that if you can take less units in a section then it should reduce the number of required items inside that section as well but Reaper responded otherwise).

 

So, end result is I cant assume anything on things that are only described halfway. For the moment I have to take it at its literal writing which currently says that you can deploy the units at the card flip not deploy and use at card flip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The way I see it. Drop Infantry are required to have Airborne, which allows them to Dismount as a Free Action.

The Drop Deployment is just a special circumstance Dismount where the Transport is too high to see, and then the Infantry Stand continues their activation as normal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
....the response I have been given from Reaper has been if its not in the text then its not in the text and dont assume it (like with the Templar docterine where you would assume that if you can take less units in a section then it should reduce the number of required items inside that section as well but Reaper responded otherwise).

 

Actually Stubbdog, I responded otherwise. "Officially" I think the jury is still out on this one. :mellow:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

following stubdogs lead I have the following intrepretation based on a re-red of all the rules.

 

in the upgrades section on drop infantry:

 

Models with the Drop Infantry Upgrade do not

initially deploy with the Task Force during the

Deployment Phase.

...

 

When one of their Initiative Cards is turned over,

they may choose to Activate the Drop Infantry

Section. When Activating the Drop Infantry

Section, the controlling player simply places the

Models anywhere on the table but not within

12” of any enemy.

 

This is not deployment, it specified Activiation and place. So the unit is activated and placed, not deployed. This does not state it takes an action to place so the unit has two actions left. This makes sense as the preresequite SA(missed this in my first read) is Airborne (40 pts) which gives the benefits of Shock SA. The 25 points per stand for Drop SA gets you a transport that works once and can't be shot down, but drops you too far away to assault.

 

So to sum up. Drop Infantry are placed when first activated and continue their turn from there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So to sum up. Drop Infantry are placed when first activated and continue their turn from there.

So how come this newbie can make better sense of the rules that the rest of us? <_<

 

Nice observations Merlonc.

 

Castlebuilder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Actually Stubbdog, I responded otherwise. "Officially" I think the jury is still out on this one.

 

Assuming you are talking about my reference to the templar docterine... and I believe our disagreement on the interpretation of the rule.

 

But, I was told off forum at the Reaper Asylum that it is as written in the book. That being there is no mention in the book about not having to still take a full required units in a section even if the Templars are allowed to take less units overall. Meaning that I guess your interpretation was correct, that in for example an armor section, if the templar player chose to only take three units, they would all have to be of type attack.

 

And that is not the only time I have assumed wrongly. With that in knowledge, it tells me that I cannot use my own assumptions as a good place to start and I prefer to wait for official response on some of these things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The way I see it. Drop Infantry are required to have Airborne, which allows them to Dismount as a Free Action.

The Drop Deployment is just a special circumstance Dismount where the Transport is too high to see, and then the Infantry Stand continues their activation as normal.

 

 

following stubdogs lead I have the following intrepretation based on a re-red of all the rules.

 

in the upgrades section on drop infantry:

 

Models with the Drop Infantry Upgrade do not

initially deploy with the Task Force during the

Deployment Phase.

...

 

When one of their Initiative Cards is turned over,

they may choose to Activate the Drop Infantry

Section. When Activating the Drop Infantry

Section, the controlling player simply places the

Models anywhere on the table but not within

12” of any enemy.

 

This is not deployment, it specified Activiation and place. So the unit is activated and placed, not deployed. This does not state it takes an action to place so the unit has two actions left. This makes sense as the preresequite SA(missed this in my first read) is Airborne (40 pts) which gives the benefits of Shock SA. The 25 points per stand for Drop SA gets you a transport that works once and can't be shot down, but drops you too far away to assault.

 

So to sum up. Drop Infantry are placed when first activated and continue their turn from there.

Niether of these addresses the issue of gunships with the Orbital Gunship Insertion upgrade which is worded similarly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that Orbital Insertions may actually work the opposite of how these do. In the OI rules, it says that instead of activating the gunships, you deploy them on the table. Seems like that's all they'd get to do that turn then.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...