Sign in to follow this  
Stubbdog

indirect fire question

If the result of a drift takes the final target point off board, but if it were on board would still be in range to cover a target in its AOE, do you play it as a hit or a miss off table?

That is, I have a AOE/4 IF shot. Your model is standing 1 inch from the edge of the board. I fire, and drift. The drift has it drift 3 inches in the direction off board. So, you are inside of the AOE/4, but the end target point is offboard...

Do I get to roll for damage or not?

I'm no expert but in all the game systems I play with friends , off board means off board even if the AOE would have hit something . We play it the off board shot misses . :poke:

I can understand the logic of saying that if it's off the board it is lost, but I think that is more to keep guys from moving off the board to save a unit/mini and then wanting to bring them back once the threat is gone. As long as the unit on the board was obviously in the AoE, I would have given you the damage roll.

Castlebuilder

I've always played it as a missed shot. No real reason, but it probably comes from using templates rather than an AoE measurement. If the drift was less than the AoE I'd give you the damage roll. Just gets difficult if there was another model right next to the original target as there's no table to place a marker on for the centerpoint to measure from.

So long as the shot would hit the target I'd go for a damage roll. It keeps people from hugging the table edge for protection from IA's. Unless of course you determine that you are playing on a plateau.

Using Outkast Samurai's logic, I'd agree. Measure the Target Point off the table and check for AOE. Otherwise everyone will start running down the sides of tables. :rolleyes: