Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Skipper

Sure shot and Marksmen combinations

Recommended Posts

In our game Monday night, we came across a good question that needs clarrifying.

 

In the rule book under Combat and Noncombat actions (pg 59 I think) it states you can take

A) two non-combat actions,

B)a combat then non-combat action,

C)or a non-combat followed by a combat actions

 

Under combat actions it lists Use Special Action (SA) as one of the actions.

Marksmen is a SA as is Sureshot. How is this interpretted.

 

1) The elf player must choose between Marksmen and Sure shot (a combat action only allows one SA action other wise it would be multiple combat actions)

2) The elf player would be able to fire the Vale archers twice using Marksmen and then reroll one miss with Sureshot. (This seems to violate the one combat action per turn)

 

OK, let the discussion begin.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
In our game Monday night, we came across a good question that needs clarrifying.

 

1) The elf player must choose between Marksmen and Sure shot (a combat action only allows one SA action other wise it would be multiple combat actions)

2) The elf player would be able to fire the Vale archers twice using Marksmen and then reroll one miss with Sureshot. (This seems to violate the one combat action per turn)

No , the elf player does not have to choose as "Sure Shot" is an ability that allows a reroll . The 2 SA's can be combined because in the description of Marksman , it states that it can not be combined with Critical Shot or Indirect Shot . :rolleyes:

Edited by Brushmaster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not every special ability requires an action to use it. If they do, (such as marksman), it will tell you in the description.

 

For example, If you have a bonus charge/4, you still get your attack action if you charge into contact on the first activation even though you used your charge bonus SA.

 

On the same line, if a mini is stunned and makes his tough check, he didn't sacrafice an action to make that tough check.

 

Bottom line, Elf archers are really that deadly..........

 

Castlebuilder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Therefore, I assume the following combinations are also legal.

 

1. Marksmen and Poison shot

2. Critical strike and Poison shot

3. Warmaster and Frenzy

4. Warmaster, Frenzy, and Poison Strike.

 

I'm sure there are others. We debated sureshot for a while and had decided it was an activated SA. The indication here is that it is not activated, but is innate. I think we can live with that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1-4) Yes

 

As per the clarification sheet on reapergames: "Special Abilities that require an Invoke Special Ability action will specifically say they require it."

If a special ability doesn't explicitly state that you must use an Invoke Special Ability action to use it, you do not need to do so. ::):

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...