Close Combat Resolution

MattyFoe

So, I am rather new to CAV (and loving it, to boot). While I have picked up the rules quickly and find them to be mostly clear and consistent, I have run into a small snag with CC.

It is stated that combat continues until all attackers or the defender are destroyed. Does this mean that all the combat occurs within the attacker' activation? I.e. - by the end of the activation, one side lies in ruins and that there is no chance for other units from unactivated sections to intervene?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

close combat starts when a model moves into B2B and attacks. Yes, you continue until destroyed and no other models can activate to intervene. This is one of the most disliked rules in CAV. Suggestions have been posted but there is no official ruling form Reaper. Mil-Net has test rules that address it.

Yes, currently close combat works almost like a game within the game, since it is carried out to completion within one activation rather than across the regular time frame of the rest of the game.

There are definite pros and cons for this. It was intended to give infantry some real bite on the playing field. Some argue it gives too much, others say its just right. Only thing I will say is that the intention is definitely carried out against those that do not think or prepare themselves for it (i.e. adding avenger bonuses to help defend against them or focusing on transport ships before they get too close).

As with anything in this game, there are tactics and counter tactics.

It is the dumbest rule set within the game...

It defies logic and definitely makes infantry too powerful on the Cav battlefield

Rach and Adon can be gross...

Also there is a rule that allows:

infantry to use a vehicles movement and then its own and then attack.

It was explained to me that people wanted to make infantry more potent, but that's just crazy..