Jump to content

Moving through Infantry


papabees
 Share

Recommended Posts

If I'm understanding this correctly, a CAV can move through an Infantry stand at any point through its move action (albeit the stand gets a free defensive attack), but if a CAV stops it's movement in B2B with Infantry then a roll has to be made to break away? Is that accurate? That seems a little odd because units aren't necessarily stopping at the end of their move it's just an extrapolation. Or is the roll only required if the unit was engaged in CC?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

a CAV can move through an Infantry stand at any point through its move action, but if a CAV stops it's movement in B2B with Infantry then a roll has to be made to break away?

Yes, that is correct. I have no clue why you would want to do that though.

 

That seems a little odd because units aren't necessarily stopping at the end of their move it's just an extrapolation.

Despite that, there still has to be a rule for the situation. If you don't want to have to make the Exp roll, don't stop in B2B with the Infantry.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This does beg the question, though...

 

If you are in CC with an infantry stand directly to your front, on the next turn you make your EXP check and move out. If you move directly through the Infantry do they now get a free attack? It seems to me that since you have just made a check to leave CC then they wouldn't in this case, but I'd like to hear the official answer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's cool. Just curious as to the thoughts behind it.

The main reason for doing it that way is this:

 

Your opponent has some Infantry x" away from you. It takes him 2 Movement Actions plus the charge bonus to get them into B2B with your CAV.

 

The current rules means he's not going to get a free Defensive Strike at you, just b/c you break contact when your card comes up next. Otherwise Rach Infantry w/Satchel Charges could put 3 damage on a model without ever having to actually perform any CC attacks.

 

If you are in CC with an infantry stand directly to your front, on the next turn you make your EXP check and move out. If you move directly through the Infantry do they now get a free attack?

Yes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based on my reading of the text, any Model may leave close combat "no matter what." You only make the Exp roll to see if you have full or half Mov to do so.

 

Again, just to be clear. The Exp roll is not required to "leave;" only to "leave with full Mov." It's NOT a "break away" check or any other similar mechanic. You "break away" by simply declaring that you're doing a Movement action and not doing CC that turn as you do so.

 

As for successorlord's question, I don't see that the situations are linked, especially since the Exp check has nothing to do with "allowing" a model to leave. "Moving away" and "moving through" are separate and distinct. Moving through the enemy base invokes the Defensive Strike, regardless. The Exp check is only to use your Model's full Mov, not to "allow" the movement thus you're free to move in any direction you so choose. If you choose to go through the enemy Infantry, you invoke the Defensive Strike.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Used to be that an infantry stand being in B2B with a vehicle or CAV prevented it from moving at all. I yelled long and loud and after asking if someone could go out on I-35 and physically restrain a car or truck it got changed to what we have now. :lol:

 

The rule as written now is a huge improvement over what it was originally and I think it's more than fair. ::):

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Used to be that an infantry stand being in B2B with a vehicle or CAV prevented it from moving at all. I yelled long and loud and after asking if someone could go out on I-35 and physically restrain a car or truck it got changed to what we have now. :lol:

 

The rule as written now is a huge improvement over what it was originally and I think it's more than fair. ::):

 

 

I believe yer exact words were, "why don't you go play in traffic."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...