Jump to content

Saint Vierzehn

+Mercs & command structure

Recommended Posts

Ok, so as it stands, I can use the 25% Mercenary rule when playing a Mercenary army as well, correct? I see nothing that says otherwise and it is only fair.

 

As such I could use the 25% Merc rule to break build rules regarding Sergeants, Captains, and Adepts in my Mercenary army.

 

I could field a unit that included Okuran Ronin in my army, and then field a second unit of them in my 25% Merc portion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ok, so as it stands, I can use the 25% Mercenary rule when playing a Mercenary army as well, correct? I see nothing that says otherwise and it is only fair.

 

As such I could use the 25% Merc rule to break build rules regarding Sergeants, Captains, and Adepts in my Mercenary army.

 

I could field a unit that included Okuran Ronin in my army, and then field a second unit of them in my 25% Merc portion.

 

 

Interesting.

 

Logically, that would follow... not that my say-so carries any official weight.

 

I don't see why Mercs shouldn't be able to use the +mercs rule the same as anybody else. It is equitable, if a bit obtuse.

 

-StV.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess it would be okay, but you'd only get to take grunts and non-uniques probably. I'd think the unique rule still held.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be careful with your wording, Grunts are a very specific type of Soldier models.

 

Obviously uniques are uniques, so I fully agree you wouldn't be able to double up on these.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Be careful with your wording, Grunts are a very specific type of Soldier models.

 

Obviously uniques are uniques, so I fully agree you wouldn't be able to double up on these.

 

I meant grunts. Meaning you couldn't double your Adepts. Maybe you could, I guess it'll be up to the design team.

 

I personally would rather the Mercs were not allowed to use the rule. It just seems like bad fluff. An army may pay mercs to help push back an enemy. Considering a merc is a hired gun, when a merc force hires more guns they just become mercs.

 

Seems hokey to have mercs hiring mercs.

 

I'm not against giving the mercs a little love. I'd be for changing CoH to give an additional card every 1000 points. I think any merc models should be available in a merc company, regardless of affiliation. I think they should get a Scoundrel's Luck roll for every troop, every round. But I'm not a fan of this idea.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While I could see someone trying to use this rule in a Merc army to end up with an extra Sergeant or Captain without the proper higher leaders, I can't see how you could use it to get more Adepts. Nothing in the wording says you can break Adept limits. It only says 'chain of command' rules are separate for the 25%. Remember a 'Fighting Company' is your whole army, and Adepts are limited within that fighting company (just like you are limited to 1 Warlord in a Fighting Company).

 

The only thing I can see someone doing with this is having 1-2 too many lower-level leaders...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
While I could see someone trying to use this rule in a Merc army to end up with an extra Sergeant or Captain without the proper higher leaders, I can't see how you could use it to get more Adepts. Nothing in the wording says you can break Adept limits. It only says 'chain of command' rules are separate for the 25%. Remember a 'Fighting Company' is your whole army, and Adepts are limited within that fighting company (just like you are limited to 1 Warlord in a Fighting Company).

 

The only thing I can see someone doing with this is having 1-2 too many lower-level leaders...

 

That's what I thought too, you could only double non-unique models and grunts... which would be pointless, except in the case you mentioned.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh I'm not saying Mercs hiring Mecs is something I would do, just pointing out that as it stands it looks to be legal.

 

I'm glad I was incorrect about the Adepts as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You'd also lose COH and the use of Scoundrel's Luck on that 25% as well.

 

So you wouldn't even be able to use it to get around the alignment issues either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That I', aware of, the main point would be to carry the extra Captains or Sergeants and avoid some of the command limitations. As I said, not something I would do, especially since I'm not a fan of Mercs in the first place.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×