Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Saint Vierzehn

+Mercs & command structure

Recommended Posts

How do mercenary warlords/captains/sergeants count towards command structure requrements? Since the rules don't specify any exceptions, I assume they count towards command structure restrictions without differentiation between faction commanders and non-faction commanders.

 

For instance, it would not be legal to field 3 captains unless you also fielded a warlord, even if one of the captains was a mercenary and the other two were factioned. Likewise, it would be legal to field a mercenary captain and up to four faction sergeants.

 

Is there any other official word on this?

 

-StV.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
How do mercenary warlords/captains/sergeants count towards command structure requrements? Since the rules don't specify any exceptions, I assume they count towards command structure restrictions without differentiation between faction commanders and non-faction commanders.

 

For instance, it would not be legal to field 3 captains unless you also fielded a warlord, even if one of the captains was a mercenary and the other two were factioned. Likewise, it would be legal to field a mercenary captain and up to four faction sergeants.

 

Is there any other official word on this?

 

-StV.

 

I thought about the same thing. It would be easier to to keep command structure requirements the same. I would actually rather they ruled you just had two seperate commands in a 25% merc force for fluff reasons... I just don't see mercs listening to anyone but there commander.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very good question. I have added 2 new sentences to this rule, which should be reflected in the layed-out version when that is done.

 

The bold sentences below are new:

 

 

Mercenary Rule

New Rule) Players may field up to 25% of the game's agreed point cost (1500 point game would be 375) in Mercenary Faction Models and still retain their Faction's Army Faction Special Abilities (FAs), if the rest of their army is composed of only one Faction (or a Sublist). These Mercenary models do not gain the Mercenary army special abilities. Mercenary models must be fielded in separate troops from the Faction Troops. Troop to solo ratios apply separately to the faction and mercenary troops, therefore you may not field more Mercenary Solos than you field Mercenary Troops, regardless of how many Faction Troops and Solos you are fielding and vice versa. Chain of Command rules also apply separately, so a Mercenary Captain is required before you field a third Mercenary Sergeant, regardless of the Faction Leaders you are fielding and vice versa. The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader (and therefore you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%). Spells, Equipment and other upgrades taken by Mercenary models apply against the 25% point value limit. Spells, Equipment, and other upgrades that affect your entire army (such as a battle totem) do not affect Mercenary Models.

The Mercenary Models do not benefit from specific FAs. For example, they do not gain the Bane FA in a Dwarf Army, and cannot be saved via Pain Tokens in a Darkspawn Army. FAs that affect the enemy Army are still in effect though, so an enemy Mage would still suffer a -2 CP when casting a spell against a Mercenary in a Nefsokar Army.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Very good question. I have added 2 new sentences to this rule, which should be reflected in the layed-out version when that is done.

 

The bold sentences below are new:

 

 

Mercenary Rule

New Rule) Players may field up to 25% of the game's agreed point cost (1500 point game would be 375) in Mercenary Faction Models and still retain their Faction's Army Faction Special Abilities (FAs), if the rest of their army is composed of only one Faction (or a Sublist). These Mercenary models do not gain the Mercenary army special abilities. Mercenary models must be fielded in separate troops from the Faction Troops. Troop to solo ratios apply separately to the faction and mercenary troops, therefore you may not field more Mercenary Solos than you field Mercenary Troops, regardless of how many Faction Troops and Solos you are fielding and vice versa. Chain of Command rules also apply separately, so a Mercenary Captain is required before you field a third Mercenary Sergeant, regardless of the Faction Leaders you are fielding and vice versa. The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader (and therefore you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%). Spells, Equipment and other upgrades taken by Mercenary models apply against the 25% point value limit. Spells, Equipment, and other upgrades that affect your entire army (such as a battle totem) do not affect Mercenary Models.

The Mercenary Models do not benefit from specific FAs. For example, they do not gain the Bane FA in a Dwarf Army, and cannot be saved via Pain Tokens in a Darkspawn Army. FAs that affect the enemy Army are still in effect though, so an enemy Mage would still suffer a -2 CP when casting a spell against a Mercenary in a Nefsokar Army.

 

Great fix.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a bit confused with the way that was worded. A warlord doesn't rank higher than itself, so is a mercenary warlord still not allowed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm a bit confused with the way that was worded. A warlord doesn't rank higher than itself, so is a mercenary warlord still not allowed?

 

It should probably read "of equal or higher", but no, you can't field a merc Warlord.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The wording is correct if you take into account that somewhere else in the rulebook, it says that you can only ever field one warlord...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The wording is correct if you take into account that somewhere else in the rulebook, it says that you can only ever field one warlord...

That is correct. Since you cannot have more than 1 Warlord, and since the highest ranking Merc can't be higher than the highest ranking non-merc, you cannot field a merc Warlord in that 25%.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The wording is correct if you take into account that somewhere else in the rulebook, it says that you can only ever field one warlord...

That is correct. Since you cannot have more than 1 Warlord, and since the highest ranking Merc can't be higher than the highest ranking non-merc, you cannot field a merc Warlord in that 25%.

 

True the book says one Warlord, but it also says you can't field four captains without a Warlord. But taking

two faction captains and two merc captains is legal. Just saying the book says this or that doesn't apply any more in probably a dozen different situations, where a newer rule, SA or FA trump them. So, many players would quickly disregard the one Warlord rule, because the wording of the 25% merc rule may lead them to believe its been trumped.

 

The wording can lead to confusion because it says The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader

 

Granted the new version clearly says you can't take a Merc Warlord. But, it seems to still be confusing because of the bold statement above.

 

A Merc Warlord is neither higher or lower than faction Warlord, they are of equal rank. So, that could lead someone, like Undeling, to believe he can field a Merc Warlord, because if a faction Warlord is fielded, a merc Warlord is not of higher rank than the highest faction leader. He is of equal rank.

 

Because the rule says "and therefore" the reason you can't field a merc Warlord is because of the previous statement, but the previous statement doesn't lead you to the conclusion that you can't field a Merc Warlord. It leads you to the conclusion that if a faction Warlord is fielded, you can also field a Merc Warlord.

 

If the rule read as two seperate statements it would be much clearer.

 

The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader. (and therefore Additionally, you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Okay, so I can field a Merc captain as long as I have a faction captain regardless of whether or not I have a faction warlord, right?

Correct! ::):

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Chain of Command rules also apply separately, so a Mercenary Captain is required before you field a third Mercenary Sergeant, regardless of the Faction Leaders you are fielding and vice versa. The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader (and therefore you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%.

 

Since the chian of command rules apply separately, would it be legal to field a faction captain and two merc captains, with no warlord?

 

-StV.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Chain of Command rules also apply separately, so a Mercenary Captain is required before you field a third Mercenary Sergeant, regardless of the Faction Leaders you are fielding and vice versa. The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader (and therefore you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%.

 

Since the chian of command rules apply separately, would it be legal to field a faction captain and two merc captains, with no warlord?

 

-StV.

 

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Chain of Command rules also apply separately, so a Mercenary Captain is required before you field a third Mercenary Sergeant, regardless of the Faction Leaders you are fielding and vice versa. The highest ranking Mercenary Leader cannot be of a higher rank than the highest ranking Faction Leader (and therefore you cannot field a Mercenary Warlord as part of the 25%.

 

Since the chian of command rules apply separately, would it be legal to field a faction captain and two merc captains, with no warlord?

 

-StV.

Or two faction Captains and a Merc Captain . Geez , that dosen't sound right but there it is . :rolleyes: Maybe in need of more errata .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since the 'Chain of Command' rules are applied separately, yes you can have 2 Faction Captains and 1 Merc Captain (or vice versa), without needing a Warlord (you are still only allowed one Warlord per fighting company - that is an army organization rule, not so much a 'chain of command' rule.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...