How are scrolls sculpted?

For a conversion project, I need to craft a scroll. Something like the ones to the left on this:

http://www.reapermini.com/FigureFinder#detail/02652

I'm converting "Klaus Copperthumb, Dwarf Thief" into a mage for a friend. I'd like to add a rolled-up/tied-up scroll to his belt. But so far, my attempts with greenstuff end up looking FAR too large (greenstuff-paper

Yep, complete newbie here. All advice appreciated!

I've thought about just "stealing" from the posted treasure, but I thought I'd at least try to make one before I bought & destroyed that mini!

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

GS is most likely what was used to create those (maybe brown stuff - but GS will do it well enough).

However since you don't have to worry about the vulcanizing process - there are several options available to you.

I like to use tissue paper (not kleenex type...the craft/hobby type). Take the tissue paper and cut it into strips twice as wide as you want your final scroll to be. Fold 1/4 over to the center and do the same on the other side. You will end up with a strip half as wide as the original...but twice as thick.

Now take some acrylic medium and water it down pretty well. Gently paint this onto the tissue paper making sure it soaks through completely. Use the brush to push any air bubbles out of the tissue now as well.

While the acrylic is still wet, roll the tissue up and tie a string around it and let dry. The string is optional, but it can help to provide the dimpling effect that some people like to see on scrolls.

Once it has dried, you can paint it as normal - sculpt a tie out of GS or use materials like the scale rope used by model ship builders. To add a bit of interest - you can use a knife to cut small notches in the edges of the scroll.