MattyFoe Posted October 24, 2008 Share Posted October 24, 2008 Had a dispute arise before the last CAV game over how free points affect expenditure maximums. Say we agree to a 2000 point game. One side chooses a Terran Air or Artillery doctrine. Now, they get 10% in free points. This does not affect game size, as I understand it. The just get to play with a force that may be up to 10% larger than their opponents' (assuming they spend at least 200 points on strikes. This means their entire force can now amount ot 2200 points. No more, right? They cannot claim that their force size is now 2200 and claim an extra 10% on those 200 points, no? They cannot "chain" up to 2220. It seems to me thatif one could chain even that once, then their is no reason that they cannot continue to claim 10% on each new little increment. While this number of extra points goes asymptotic quickly, it still seems to violate the common sense of the rule and technically would go on infinitely. Now their strike cap. Strikes say that you may spend up to 20% game points on strikes. That means a Terran player is restricted to 20% of the agreed game size. They are not allowed to count the extra 200 (from the above example) as part of the game size to allow them to inflate the strike package past 400 points. Obviously, the first point about overall points also applies to other "free points" doctrines such as the Terran infantry doctrine and Templar upgrade doctrine. I also apologize if this is at all disjointed and/or confusing, as I am trying to get it all out before my superiors realize I am still at lunch and not back working. :o) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.