Sign in to follow this  
whitepony

Newbie question

I have recently started getting into using reaper minis for my rpg games. I also want to start painting them. I have been painting model cars for about 12 years. My question is that i have about 500 bottles of testors enamel model paint can i use this on the minis as this would save me loads of money and just pick up some flesh colors? I know i am good on brushes and ect but the paints i just don't know if it will work. Also any guides on where exactly to start with painting these would be helpful. Thanx for your time.

You could use the Testor's, however they are not going to give you the smooth dull coats of paint you need to create decent looking minis. Even for just tabletop quality minis for play I still paint with acrylics and then do several coats of Testor's dullcote to seal and protect the paint job. If you are looking to paint on the cheap - go and get paint sets by Delta Ceramcoat or some of the other craft paint sets you would find at a local arts and crafts store. Often for about $9 you can get 24 colors to work with and they will work up nicer than the enamels will on your mini. If you don't mind dropping a few more $$, the next best thing is Liquitex has a 24 cell pack of acrylic paints. Don't forget to prime your mini first.

Instead of immediately switching, I would suggest trying them first. Buy a cheaper mini where you don't need flesh - maybe an orc or gnoll or swamp shambler or something. I have seen some nice work done with enamel paint - not my choice, but it is how I learned to paint minis, and what my brother used.

Most people prefer acrylic paints for minis, which are generally a lot easier to work with and lend themselves to smooth and subtle paint jobs. However, if you already have time and money invested in using enamels you may find that these are quite adequate for your gaming pieces. Here are a couple of examples of minis I painted with enamels many years ago: