Question about Matte Sealer

Alex3

I'm a painting newbie so I was hoping someone with a little more experience could answer a quick question...

I have a few minis that were painted over the past few months, all of them sprayed with Armory brand "Matte Sealer," and I was just wondering whether or not it was ok to paint over that? I've gotten a little better since I started and I have better paint/materials so I thought I'd touch up some, repaint a few little parts, etc. I just wanted to make sure it would be ok- like the paint wouldn't come rolling off and mess up the whole thing.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• Reaper User

Hello Alex, welcome to the hobby and the boards. ::):

I'm not that familiar with Armory brand sealer, but in general matte sealers have enough "tooth" for paint to be applied over the top of them. What you may need to do is to re-spray the sealer on after you've touched parts up, to make sure the new paint sticks. ::): It does depend, however, on how matte the sealer is. Many "matte" sealers are actually closer to satin (they have a slight gloss to them) and the more shine, the more difficult it will be to have paint stick to them because there is nothing for the paint to grab onto. Of course if you are using thick paint it will probably stick, but you get better results with thinner paint, so...I'd guess my question would be, is Armory sealer dead matte, or is there some shine to it?

--Anne ::):

I'm a painting newbie so I was hoping someone with a little more experience could answer a quick question...