Some minis

Alex3

I started painting reaper minis a few months ago for D&D reasons, and I thought maybe I should post some I did here and you guys might be able to give me tips? I'll post them in the order I did them. (Ignore the little white flecks, they've got a few chips from being in a box but now I have the reaper carrying case and I'm going to touch them up, but I thought I'd get feedback before going back to fix things!) Sorry for the bad photos, too, my camera's pretty bad.

My first two were from the l2paint kit!

Painty.jpgGiantRat.jpg

Then a ninja,

Teio.jpg

A darksword mini (thanks cutebutpsycho)

Woo.jpg

It's supposed to be an angel but I made it into an Erinyes... I need to make the base look like clouds, not sure how to do that!

Cesia.jpg

Kind of an easy one, but I want to add barding to him.

Qlasher.jpg

First one I did basing on, looks like she's on a lawn.

sprit.jpg

Just a gnome.. more terrible basing.

Naminar.jpg

This one's hard to see, sorry.

Paola.jpg

The most recent one.

Jack.jpg

So I guess I'm just looking for any overall critique you can give, try not to be too harsh T_T I'm pretty bad, but I did just buy two more of the l2paint kits.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Over all not bad at all.

First thing I would ask are you priming your minis before you paint them? The reason why I ask (you can see this on the bear fur) seems to be chipping to easily. If you are I would suggest a second coat on that. You should be able to handle the figs without this happening.

Second thing I would focus on is bring down shadows and bring up your highlights. I see that you are doing so on some of the figs but not all. By doing this it will make the color pop. Keeping your base coat smooth and consistent is key here.

I look forward to seeing more of your work.