Sign in to follow this  
Samedi

Hermit with Ravens - Please support your local newb

Hello and welcome to my first WIP-Thread where I try to make my first little diorama.

Here's the situation: I'm a very slow painter with too little time to paint - so far I have finished seven minis in the last three years. Without even an attempt to base one of them. And my working hours don't permit me to join a local painting group. However, all of you have helped me a lot in the past and so I will use this thread to ask all my questions, stay focused and show my progress. I'm looking forward to a lot of C&C.

THE PROJECT

I'll build a little diorama about an hermit who lived in the wood near lake Zurich and had two raven friends. When he was murdered the two ravens chased the murderers all the way back to Zurich. The diorama will show the hermit in the wood, talking to his two ravens. That's all I know so far. Deadline is the end of August - I'm planning it as a birthday gift for my dad. But since I'm such a slow painter I have to start early.

THE MINIS

Let's introduce the heroes: A nameless monk by Metal Magic will play the role of St. Meinrad the hermit and two ravens by crocodile games will star as themselves (thanx for the tip, derek!).

post-3728-1231769230.jpg

FIRST PROBLEMS

How does one make a diorama base? Just use a larger base and glue everything on? A piece of wood? Rock? Cork? I've seen CDs used as bases, but that is a little too much, I'd like to keep it smaller. I guess it's time to browse through CMON and see what they use for diorama bases over there...

How does one make a diorama base? Just use a larger base and glue everything on? A piece of wood? Rock? Cork? I've seen CDs used as bases, but that is a little too much, I'd like to keep it smaller. I guess it's time to browse through CMON and see what they use for diorama bases over there...