Sign in to follow this  
Kang

03405: Black Orc Hero

Hey,

I recently picked up 03405: Black Orc Hero, and I am thinking about converting him a bit so as to represent Kang, the ferocious 1/2 orc barbarian PC I've been playing for several years in my friend's D&D 3.5 FR campaign. He's actually a baron these days, but it doesn't seem to have civilized him at all.

In terms of things I would like to add or change about this mini to make it more... Kangy:

My PC has hair, for one thing. He also wears a cloak made from the pelt of a shadow mastiff which he slew and later had made into a cloak of resistance (although I imagine it as looking fairly crude, like an intact pelt he just ties on somehow), and later still had a pocket added to it which acts as a bag of holding. His breastplate is made of red dragon scales. And he likes to keep teeth/talons as trophies from all his kills that posed a decent challenge, which he adds to necklaces or otherwise uses to adorn his gear. There are a few other little details, but these are the ones I am considering adding/changing on this mini, if it seems like it's not going to be overwhelming. So far my conversion/sculpting experience is limited to bulking up bases, weapon swaps, and gap-filling with green stuff, so I am hoping some of you out there can provide some advice, tips, links to tutorials, or what have you.

I figure the breastplate on the existing mini could look like it is made of large scales, with a little imagination & some red paint, but I would be happy to hear suggestions for any adjustments I could consider making to enhance this appearance.

Any tips for giving him hair, suggested hairstyles (his hairdo or lack thereof has never come up in-game) & how I might create them, etc.?

Any tips for making the shadow mastiff pelt cloak w/ pocket? Tooth/claw jewelry?