Jump to content

Recommended Posts

From what I can tell with support all you have to have is 3 models touching an enemy model to get support.

 

I know Ascii drawings are horrible but:

 

_AA_

BBBB

 

A = the enemy std size, lined up with each other.

 

B = friendly models std size, all lined up and the A's and B's in the middle are all touching corners.

 

So the 2 B's on the left could claim support on the left model and the 2 B's on the right can also?

 

Does touching a 2nd enemy model DQ you from lending support?

Do you have to be attacking that model to lend support?

 

Or is this correct, that everyone gets to claim support no matter who they attack?

 

Continuing on this:

 

AA

BB

.C

 

A = enemy models

B = Friendly models

C = friendly with reach that is right between the 2 B models.

 

IIRC, it says the model with reach counts as BtB for support purposes if he is attacking.

 

If he has only 1 attack and attacks the A model on the left, Can the B models claim support to attack either A model, or just the one C attacked?

 

If the C model has MA 2 and splits his attacks on the 2 models can the B models claim support for either?

 

Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

 

You need three models in base to base contact with an enemy and attacking to get the support bonus. In the both cases you presented, both the middle attackers ("B") would have to have two attacks and split them among the targets to have three models striking each enemy model to get the support bonus. ::):

 

Hope I didn't just make all this as clear as mud. :lol:

 

DRG

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, I thought they just had to be touching. I thought the attack part was only if they were using reach.

 

So if you are in a separate troop, there is no way to provide support, as they cannot be attacking at the same time?

 

And this situation:

 

_A_

BBB

 

A enemy.

B has 3 guys who charge. 2 make it in. The 3rd was just short, so uses a 2nd charge to get into base to base. But no support as only 2 can attack?

 

Is that right?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, DRG is incorrect. The model does not have to be attacking in order to grant Support bonuses. Please see the text for "Support" on p. 31. You simply need to be in B2B contact with the enemy with 3 or models, and all models conducting attacks against that model receive the Support bonus. So, yes, in your first example from your earlier post, all of your models would have +1 vs. the two defenders. In your second example from your first post, please see the text for Reach on p. 40. A Reach model grants Support against a target only if it attacks that target. Therefore, you'd have Support against the target it attacks, but not the other.

 

~v

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, in Warlord 2, you only need to be in B2B to count as 1 of the 3, and corner-to-corner now counts. So it can be easier to get support.

 

Usually what it means though is that people stop putting their models in contact with each other, and leave a 1/4" gap between each of their models. ::):

Link to post
Share on other sites

ok, great.

 

So last question that didn't get answered.

 

If a model with reach has an MA 2 and attacks both models, would he that give support for everyone against either model.

 

 

.A.A

BDB

..C

 

In this case, A enemy with 1/4" gap

 

D in middle is touching both models, C lined up behind him with reach.

 

If C has only 1 attack, then whoever he attacks, say the left one, then the B (left) and D would all get support. B on right or if D attacked Right A, no support bonus.

 

If C has MA 2, and splits his attacks, then everyone gets support bonus no matter who they are attacking. Is that right?

 

Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. The "directly opposite" means the enemy model and the Reach model must be on opposite faces of the intervening friendly model's square base. Thus, the following works (where E = Enemy, F = Friendly, R = Reach):

 

E

F

R

 

-or-

 

.E

FF

.R

 

-or-

 

.E

.F

RR

 

-but not-

 

FE

R

 

Clear?

 

Incidentally, this is one of the reason why round bases don't work very well for Warlord, as certain rules get mucky when you lack clear *sides* on a base.

 

~v

Edited by Shakandara
Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems clear. So by that example it could be possible to have 3 reach models hiding out behind 1 friendly model and all 3 reach models would get to swing since they are directly opposite and corner to corner. Like this...

 

....E....

....F....

..RRR..

 

Clearly my formatting skills are off...but hopefully you get the idea.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Seems clear. So by that example it could be possible to have 3 reach models hiding out behind 1 friendly model and all 3 reach models would get to swing since they are directly opposite and corner to corner. Like this...

 

....E....

....F....

..RRR..

 

Clearly my formatting skills are off...but hopefully you get the idea.

Yep, you got it! With Corner-to-corner base side contact being valid, you could have up to 3 "reachers" just like that. ::):

That is a great tactic to use when F has Damage Reduction, as F can absorb the defensive strikes. Stick some Khamsin Herdsmen behind an Ammat Devourer for good times!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...