Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
dmcgee1

Transports and disembarking

Recommended Posts

Thanks for listening. Hopefully, I've raised good points without coming across as condescending. I, truly, believe that this rule was amended with good intent, but not-so-good consideration of how it would affect (or be affected by) other rules.

Actually, the rule works exactly as its designed to work. A lot of consideration, plus several years worth of gaming experiences, were used to come up with the final result.

 

Originally, one could move the Transport on one action, and one or more Infantry could Dismount (of course, they could Mount, too), the Transport could, then, move again, and one or more Infantry could Dismount, again.

Not true. Originally in CAV 1, Mount/Dismount was performed by the transport, b/c the transport has to stop in order for anyone to get in or out of it. Basically on a turn where you were going to have your APC dump out its infantry, the APC could only move 1/2 of its Mov (actions worked differently in CAV 1).

 

The way that it all works right now (as of RC08) is a compromise between the two systems. By not changing Mount/Dismount to be a Transport Action, we're allowing Transports the advantage of being able to use both their Actions during a turn, while by changing Mount/Dismount to a Non-Repeatable Action (which forces everyone to get in/out of the transport at the same time) we represent the fact that at some point the transport still has to stop so said infantry can get in/out and that there's not enough time in a turn for this to happen more than once.

 

What you are looking to do is handled by the Airborne SA.

Infantry, Airborne SA

An Infantry Model with the Infantry Airborne SA may leave any Transport at any point during either its own Action Phase or the Transport’s Action Phase. This SA allows the Infantry Models to dismount, or jump, anywhere along the movement path of the Transport. The Mount/Dismount Action of Infantry with the Airborne SA is a Free Action and does not cost an Action Point to conduct.

Since Airborne perform Mount/Dismount as a Free Action instead of a Non-Repeatable Action, they can dismount individually from each other and from any non-Airborne models in their section.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for listening. Hopefully, I've raised good points without coming across as condescending. I, truly, believe that this rule was amended with good intent, but not-so-good consideration of how it would affect (or be affected by) other rules.

Actually, the rule works exactly as its designed to work. A lot of consideration, plus several years worth of gaming experiences, were used to come up with the final result.

 

Originally, one could move the Transport on one action, and one or more Infantry could Dismount (of course, they could Mount, too), the Transport could, then, move again, and one or more Infantry could Dismount, again.

Not true. Originally in CAV 1, Mount/Dismount was performed by the transport, b/c the transport has to stop in order for anyone to get in or out of it. Basically on a turn where you were going to have your APC dump out its infantry, the APC could only move 1/2 of its Mov (actions worked differently in CAV 1).

 

The way that it all works right now (as of RC08) is a compromise between the two systems. By not changing Mount/Dismount to be a Transport Action, we're allowing Transports the advantage of being able to use both their Actions during a turn, while by changing Mount/Dismount to a Non-Repeatable Action (which forces everyone to get in/out of the transport at the same time) we represent the fact that at some point the transport still has to stop so said infantry can get in/out and that there's not enough time in a turn for this to happen more than once.

 

What you are looking to do is handled by the Airborne SA.

Infantry, Airborne SA

An Infantry Model with the Infantry Airborne SA may leave any Transport at any point during either its own Action Phase or the Transport’s Action Phase. This SA allows the Infantry Models to dismount, or jump, anywhere along the movement path of the Transport. The Mount/Dismount Action of Infantry with the Airborne SA is a Free Action and does not cost an Action Point to conduct.

Since Airborne perform Mount/Dismount as a Free Action instead of a Non-Repeatable Action, they can dismount individually from each other and from any non-Airborne models in their section.

 

Wouldn't that also mean a model with Shock or airborne SA could remount during the same activation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just because its a Free Action doesn't allow them to break the rule about not being able to perform more than 1 Mount/Dismount Action per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Big selling point to the game. I could easily score the small ones on the secondary market but I'm now just buying CAV direct from Reaper, the new stuff, the N scale stuff, and so on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 2009[/url], 04:04 PM' post='539014']
538951[/url]' date='Sep 15 2009, 12:12 PM']
538697[/url]' date='Sep 13 2009, 08:16 PM']Thanks for listening. Hopefully, I've raised good points without coming across as condescending. I, truly, believe that this rule was amended with good intent, but not-so-good consideration of how it would affect (or be affected by) other rules.

Actually, the rule works exactly as its designed to work. A lot of consideration, plus several years worth of gaming experiences, were used to come up with the final result.

 

Originally, one could move the Transport on one action, and one or more Infantry could Dismount (of course, they could Mount, too), the Transport could, then, move again, and one or more Infantry could Dismount, again.

Not true. Originally in CAV 1, Mount/Dismount was performed by the transport, b/c the transport has to stop in order for anyone to get in or out of it. Basically on a turn where you were going to have your APC dump out its infantry, the APC could only move 1/2 of its Mov (actions worked differently in CAV 1).

 

The way that it all works right now (as of RC08) is a compromise between the two systems. By not changing Mount/Dismount to be a Transport Action, we're allowing Transports the advantage of being able to use both their Actions during a turn, while by changing Mount/Dismount to a Non-Repeatable Action (which forces everyone to get in/out of the transport at the same time) we represent the fact that at some point the transport still has to stop so said infantry can get in/out and that there's not enough time in a turn for this to happen more than once.

 

What you are looking to do is handled by the Airborne SA.

Infantry, Airborne SA

An Infantry Model with the Infantry Airborne SA may leave any Transport at any point during either its own Action Phase or the Transport's Action Phase. This SA allows the Infantry Models to dismount, or jump, anywhere along the movement path of the Transport. The Mount/Dismount Action of Infantry with the Airborne SA is a Free Action and does not cost an Action Point to conduct.

Since Airborne perform Mount/Dismount as a Free Action instead of a Non-Repeatable Action, they can dismount individually from each other and from any non-Airborne models in their section.

 

Wouldn't that also mean a model with Shock or airborne SA could remount during the same activation?

 

Good points. I appreciate the explanation. Thanks.

 

span.jajahWrapper { font-size:1em; color:#B11196; text-decoration:underline; } a.jajahLink { color:#000000; text-decoration:none; } span.jajahInLink:hover { background-color:#B11196; }

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please note there was a change to Airborne, in that it says Transports with the Air movement type.....this change was brought to you by Spartan and the concept of PLF's out of the back of APC's

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got the non repeatable bit.

 

Just so we're doing things right, the Transport can move twice, the infantry can then dismount and have an available action, two if they've Shock.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I got the non repeatable bit.

 

Just so we're doing things right, the Transport can move twice, the infantry can then dismount and have an available action, two if they've Shock.

 

or if they have airborne.

 

Yes

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...