Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Gus Landt

Clarifications & Errata

Recommended Posts

I have a question about how Woods work in the game. Page 10 of the 'Savage North' book has a table titled 'Terrain Sizes'.

 

'Size 1' it lists 'less than 2" depth of light woods' and;

 

'Size 2' lists 'less than 1" depth of heavy woods'.

 

Does this mean woods are all Size 3 and drop down in size depending on how far from the edge you are?

 

But in a skirmish game where 1 figure is one figure...shouldn't one tree be one tree?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps, if the game defined the terrain type as "tree". However, it doesn't.

 

Maybe that's a change that can be made next time the game is rewritten.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question:  I want to cast a spell on an ememy that is locked in close combat with a another one of my troops.  Do my troops that are locked in close combat have to take a Discipline check like they would if I were shooting into close combat?  We treated it as such but I saw nothing in the rulebook that said either way.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, DIS checks for firing into melee only apply to the Shoot action, not the Spellcast action. The only way your model would be required to make a DIS check would be if they were included in the AoE of a spell that required such (as opposed to a single target spell targeting an enemy model, or an AoE spell that only includes enemy models within its area).

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

out of curiosity I was wondering if the bases have to be square. I really prefer to have rounded bases as i feel that they look better to me, but wanted to make sure before basing anything up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Square does make a difference vs. round, and the game has been designed with that in mind. While you can certainly put your minis on whatever base you desire for friendly play, they would not be strictly legal for tournament play. It is also possible that your opponent might take issue with it even during friendly play, if they are fully aware of the impact that the difference can make. Finally, you may find it difficult to place some miniatures (depending on what faction you are playing, and whether or not you are proxying models) on a round base of the same size as a square (i.e. 25mm round vs. 25mm square).

 

That being said, you can always use poster tack or something similar to stick the correct shape base to the bottom of your round-based models. This allows you to keep your aesthetics for when it doesn't matter, and be legit when it does.

 

~v

Edited by Shakandara

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This question came up in a game today. I had a ranged attack unit that had a ranged attack made against it. As per the rules my unit took his defensive shot. My unit then had a melee attack made against it during the same activation. The question was does it get defensive strikes back?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was looking at the Kargir faction today as I plan on using them for a scenario and I noticed that Boneflayer is the only gnoll on a large base. Is this correct or should he also be on a standard size base?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...