Jump to content

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't see why not as blowthrough doesn't target a model more a "direction". The rules for stealth say that it can not be "targeted" by an attack more than 12" away. Now if your within the 12" I am 90% sure your hosed either way.

 

I am sure someone with more experience will post soon - but that's my interpretation.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, the trick is to do it without the need for errata...

 

Stealth says models cannot be targetted. Blowthrough specifically says it targets models. Therefore, the most logical conclusion, rules-wise, would be that stealth models are unaffected by Blowthrough when they are 12+" away.

Link to post
Share on other sites
But youre not targetting the model. you're targetting the lead model or point, everything else is just a blast line of effect. no different than an AOE spell really

I have to agree with Qwk, you can't target them over 12" away, but if they are in the line of fire, bad luck for them.

Link to post
Share on other sites

page 37: "Blowthrough: A model with this SA does not target and attack a single model as in a normal ranged attack, but instead targets and attacks all models in a line."

 

So yes, blowthrough does indeed target any model in the AoE. Gus is right that the simplest solution is to have both SA's continue functioning as-is with blowthrough targeting everything and stealth making the model invalid to be targeted.

 

I guess it's one of those situations where the act of making a game that simulates a battle necessarily dumbs down battle. There's just no accounting for everything, especially when you want a fair game in the end. I'm sure we'd all cry foul if battle was accurately translated into a game and it was almost always one sided!

Link to post
Share on other sites
page 37: "Blowthrough: A model with this SA does not target and attack a single model as in a normal ranged attack, but instead targets and attacks all models in a line."

 

So yes, blowthrough does indeed target any model in the AoE. Gus is right that the simplest solution is to have both SA's continue functioning as-is with blowthrough targeting everything and stealth making the model invalid to be targeted.

 

I guess it's one of those situations where the act of making a game that simulates a battle necessarily dumbs down battle. There's just no accounting for everything, especially when you want a fair game in the end. I'm sure we'd all cry foul if battle was accurately translated into a game and it was almost always one sided!

Yep. I don't see it as unrealistic though. The Stealth model was simply able to dodge / hide from the blast like a D&D rogue VS a Fireball. ::):

Link to post
Share on other sites
page 37: "Blowthrough: A model with this SA does not target and attack a single model as in a normal ranged attack, but instead targets and attacks all models in a line."

 

So yes, blowthrough does indeed target any model in the AoE. Gus is right that the simplest solution is to have both SA's continue functioning as-is with blowthrough targeting everything and stealth making the model invalid to be targeted.

 

I guess it's one of those situations where the act of making a game that simulates a battle necessarily dumbs down battle. There's just no accounting for everything, especially when you want a fair game in the end. I'm sure we'd all cry foul if battle was accurately translated into a game and it was almost always one sided!

Yep. I don't see it as unrealistic though. The Stealth model was simply able to dodge / hide from the blast like a D&D rogue VS a Fireball. ::):

 

Then why do they still get hit by a fireball? ::P:

Edited by Qwyksilver
Link to post
Share on other sites

I've always thought of stealth as, "You cannot see me. Until I am 12 inches away."

So we don't let them get hit by anything that requires a direct target or LoS. We do however let them stumble into AoE.

It's part of the the whole, we know your general area, but can't get a lock on you as the target, mentality.

 

Maybe we're playing it wrong, but I don't see how stealth would be different than any other model that you don't have LoS too.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Maybe we're playing it wrong, but I don't see how stealth would be different than any other model that you don't have LoS too.

Its all in the wording of the rules. Stealth says it cannot be targeted. Blowthrough says it targets models. Very clear that Stealth models cannot be affect by a blowthrough greater than 12" away.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...