Sign in to follow this  
Kilazar

Blood Red is chalking when applied over itself

What the title says, my reaper Deep red is turning pinkish after applied over the top of a previous layer of the same color!

More details. I am painting Blood Angels, and going with a darker scheme, so I airbrushed deep red over a flat black primer. The color came out perfect. After that was done I picked one marine out and used him as my pallet to find out exactly what my entire scheme was going to be. I did a little touch up with the deep red, then inked him with badaab black. Re applied the deep red in progressive 90, and 80% coverage. And it came out perfectly fine. Each step allowed for the previous applications to dry completely

So I started painting the rest of my crew with the deep red doing factory style touch up to hit the spots I missed with the airbrush. And the paint is chalking on the other dudes while my test marine is still perfect! It applies and looks fine wet, and even when it first dries it looks the same shade. But after about 5 minutes of drying it is a really light almost dark pinkish shade like it was a red chalk. Why is it doing this? It is really driving me crazy, and the worst part is I did not notice it was doing this until I got around to applying more colors on the rest of my 30 marines. Please tell me I can fix this and I don't have to strip and start over.

Also just to make sure it was not just those marines, I went over to my rhino that was airbrushed the same way, and did a quick swath of paint. Same results. So I picked up a flat black primed termy and tried applying the deep red. It went on very thin and I had to build it up in layers, but the full pigmented layer came out a very subdued lightish red instead of the deep red color that the paint dries into on my pallet. I tried a new bottle and same results. The new bottle was purchased last week.

*edit*

Can someone fix my title please, it was supposed to be deep red!