Ddot

Magic: Darkspawn

Mostly I'm curious on a few issues regarding the Ice Queen and D'khul.

1. Are familiars worth the 15/30 pt outlay?

2. Do you find yourself burning them out with the higher-cost spells, or using more of a mix of the "lesser" spells as the situation dictates? (One of the reasons I consider familiars for one or both.)

3. Do you find magic can compensate for a lack of ranged attacks in a Darkspawn army, or should I strive to have at least some shooting?

Eternally hateful,

Ddot

Hi mate.

Keep in mind that Im a newbie at this game still, but heres my take on spellcasting with Darkspawn.

We only play 500'ish points, so I've yet to field the Witch Queen due to her cost.

Im fielding D'khul, Guros and a Devourer of Mashaf for spellcasting purposes.

Its my general impression that Darkspawn needs to be played fast and hard, since it appears as if they mostly have a solid amount of attacks, yet seem to lack DV for the long drawn out battles. This has made my use of magic be mostly all offence, In order to soften up the opponants main melee elites/captains before getting in B2B with them.

I use succubi + Jhorxia to harrass/slay enemy spellcasters and shooters, and otherwise rely on Darkspawn having quite nice magic defence on alot of their troop types, while I mainly target heavy hitters with magic.

The Devourer of Mashaf has spellpoints for casting 2 Mindblasts, which is amazing since its 18" with no LOS.

Guros has casting points for a single fireball, which in general gets shipped at bigger groups of enemies. (they tend to pack their troops up tight, when you have flyers with swift attack and speed superiority.)

D'Khul comes equipped with Mind Blast as well, which is his main damage dealer when I use him. Otherwise I enjoy the idea of using teleport offensively, to place enemy elite/captains in a position to be swarmed. Same idea with Domination really.