Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ddot

Clarifications on Summoning (Demonic Conclave)

Recommended Posts

Alrighty then, got an idea of my first couple of Darkspawn lists/collectionn ideas, and Demonic Conclave looks right up my alley. However, a few questions come to the surface for me.

 

1. If a Solo (ie Marilith) summons a Soldier (ie Ice Demon), where does the Ice Demon fit in? Does Mari suddenly become a Troop leader, or does the Ice Demon start its own Troop?

 

2. If I start off with a Band unit (ie Ice Demons) and one of them summons a non-Band model (ie Lesser Devil), does Summoning override the Band rules?

 

3. I bought 3 troops of leader/elite/soldier and 2 troops of solos. Am I required to Summon models according to troop composition, or would Summon allow me to change up, or even negate, certain troops. Also, is it possible to end up withtwo or more leaders in a troop vis Summon?

 

I realize Summoning isn't as complicated for everyone else, I'm just trying to get the rules lawyering out of the way ahead of time.

 

hank you,

Ddot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alrighty then, got an idea of my first couple of Darkspawn lists/collectionn ideas, and Demonic Conclave looks right up my alley. However, a few questions come to the surface for me.

 

1. If a Solo (ie Marilith) summons a Soldier (ie Ice Demon), where does the Ice Demon fit in? Does Mari suddenly become a Troop leader, or does the Ice Demon start its own Troop?

 

2. If I start off with a Band unit (ie Ice Demons) and one of them summons a non-Band model (ie Lesser Devil), does Summoning override the Band rules?

 

3. I bought 3 troops of leader/elite/soldier and 2 troops of solos. Am I required to Summon models according to troop composition, or would Summon allow me to change up, or even negate, certain troops. Also, is it possible to end up withtwo or more leaders in a troop vis Summon?

 

I realize Summoning isn't as complicated for everyone else, I'm just trying to get the rules lawyering out of the way ahead of time.

 

hank you,

Ddot

 

 

the summoned figure becomes part of the troop of the demon that summoned it. So you can actually, in an all demon force, summon everyone into 1 mega-troop (with multiple leaders, elites, and solos all in one troop). The leader to solider to elite ratios only hold for the BUILD part of raising the company, and with summoned troops have no barring on the game (though strangely Regroup Actions still must conform). Of course, your initiative cards are based on troops and tacticians ACTUALLY on the board at the start of the turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. The solo would indeed become a leader and whatever models that were summoned by him and any summons by subsequent demons under him all join his troop, unless they are solos themselves.

 

2. Same holds true here. the banded model ends up being a leader.

 

3. With the Demon Conclave and its special circumstances it allows you to completely change the look of your army. You could start with a single model on the table and then on the first turn do a series of summon demon who would then summon more demons who would summon more demons.. etc.. and as long as they were all soldier types they could all fit under one big mega troop.

 

In the end, this Faction Doctrine can make for a lot of nasty fun surprises against your enemy. But, it can also backfire against you if that single summoning model gets killed before it gets a chance to start the domino rolling so watch out...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That would indeed stink huge to lose your only model. In the end I think it's kindof a novelty to "be able to start with only one model on the table" and do a huge summoning chain. A far safer approach would be to have, say, half of your summoners on the table for deployment, and when you see the makeup and deployment of your opponents army you can use the first turn to summon in the rest of your forces in an optimal way.

 

There's just too many possibilities for getting a model way downfield to do some damage for it to be safe to deploy only one model. If there are any casters, any cavalry, any Ranger, and any ranged models it's best not to leave yourself open to shenanigans.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for the replies.

 

4. An Ice Demon summons MArilith. Does she activate immediately this turn, then become her own troop next turn?

 

On a practical note, DL seems better suited for surgical strikes than mass summoning shenanigans. But that just may be me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

one point of clarification tho... i dont have the book in front of me, so not 100% sure how it is worded so this may or may not be true, but i do believe that all summoned models would still be subject to the "all combat of the same type have to happen at the same time" rule. Meaning that you would have to be mindful of your order of your actions and when u do them in relation to any attacks that you also do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...