Sign in to follow this  
Warwick

Magic in demo?

My last bout of demo lists had no magic. They were 300 points, and very fast games. I've talked to a new game shop in town about running a few demos. Is 500 points too big for a demo? Should I include magic in each list to give the new player a glimpse into everything? What size of army did you learn on?

As for me, I learned on 1K armies, playing both sides for three games. I had six armies under my belt before going to fight in public. I believe in a "jump right in" style of learning. Hit me with everything. I'm a slow learner, so we better get started early. That's how I might want to demo, too.

You might consider having a 250 pt and a 500 pt list for each army. If the players are absolute noobies, use the 250 pt list first to teach basic mechanics without any frills like magic or ranged and minimal SA's. If the players seem to be experienced gamers, jump right to the 500 pt lists.

I was about to say that I rarely use magic in demos, but I've realized that isn't true. The way I demo the game to the largest number of people is via Dungeon Crawl events at conventions. I give them a 500 point team of 4 models that covers every major facet of the game - melee, ranged, and magic. I spend about 10 minutes teaching people a "lite" version of the rules, then we start playing and learn the rest on the fly. Honestly, it seems to work pretty well. ::):

~v

I think people can handle it. All of my demos quickly reached a point where I was just watching. I could walk away. Add in magic and I need another ten minutes or less to talk about it. And some people simply adore hurling magic at the enemy. I'll do it!

Actually I love using magic in demos, as well as ranged.