Jump to content

Sign in to follow this  
Gus Landt

Warlord 2nd Edition rulebook back in stock!

Recommended Posts

http://www.reapermin.../sku-down/25101

 

The core rulebook is now back in stock! This book has the exact same rules as the Savage North book. It simply has different factions in it. You do not need both rulebooks to play - just the rulebook for the faction you want to play. smile.gif

 

 

With the exception of several SAs. New SN ones not listed in the 2d Ed core (cause SN didn't exsist yet), and some core SAs not listed in the SN (mostly because no SN minis use the SA - but I seem to remember coming across 1 that should have been in but was not - sorry didnt write it down at the time - BSGs? perhaps).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.reapermin.../sku-down/25101

 

The core rulebook is now back in stock! This book has the exact same rules as the Savage North book. It simply has different factions in it. You do not need both rulebooks to play - just the rulebook for the faction you want to play. smile.gif

 

 

With the exception of several SAs. New SN ones not listed in the 2d Ed core (cause SN didn't exsist yet), and some core SAs not listed in the SN (mostly because no SN minis use the SA - but I seem to remember coming across 1 that should have been in but was not - sorry didnt write it down at the time - BSGs? perhaps).

Correct, we didn't print core rulebook SAs in the Savage North book unless SN models actually had those SAs. I am unaware of any SAs being left out of the SN book that are in use though. Would love to find out about it to correct in future printings!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. I've been out of the Warlord loop for a while (Except for painting the occasional model). I have the 1st ed. book and the old faction books (Reven, Crusader, Nefsokar, & Overlord). Does the 2e core book have the same factions as 1e?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, can you use SN factions vs. "core" factions? And is the only way to get the info on the SN ones the 2nd haardcopy?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, can you use SN factions vs. "core" factions? And is the only way to get the info on the SN ones the 2nd haardcopy?

 

The same factions are in the 2e core as in 1e, but there are not subfactions. Instead of the lists they gave each faction 2 or three "doctrines" which equate to the old faction abilities. Also, there is a special faction ability tied to each warlord and each faction gets a handful of faction spells and a couple pieces of equipment. You can play factions from either 2e book against each other. The only limit is to the Mercs who can't use one of their faction abilities vs the Savage factions.. There is an army builder and data cards over at reapergames.com as well as other downloads and some articles. The game is very similar to 1e, but is also very different. Both are great, just different.

 

Also the Savage North book has 8 or 10 new factions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, can you use SN factions vs. "core" factions? And is the only way to get the info on the SN ones the 2nd haardcopy?

 

The same factions are in the 2e core as in 1e, but there are not subfactions. Instead of the lists they gave each faction 2 or three "doctrines" which equate to the old faction abilities. Also, there is a special faction ability tied to each warlord and each faction gets a handful of faction spells and a couple pieces of equipment. You can play factions from either 2e book against each other. The only limit is to the Mercs who can't use one of their faction abilities vs the Savage factions.. There is an army builder and data cards over at reapergames.com as well as other downloads and some articles. The game is very similar to 1e, but is also very different. Both are great, just different.

 

Also the Savage North book has 8 or 10 new factions.

 

Thanks for the info!

 

I'm thinking of making Warlord my "fallback" game when my RPG group can't form a quorum. I have Crusader, Reven, and Necropolis minis (Good, Neutral, and Evil) so I think I'll pick up the new book and build a couple 500-750 pt. "default" armies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like a great plan to me :D My regular D&D group typically defaults to euro games, which is fine, but nothing like a good old Warlord brawl in my book.

 

You'll find 2nd edition to be just as lean and mean as first edition. Stuff goes down fast and hard in a flurry of combat. Only the rules are shinier! And archers aren't broken OR nerfed! And none of those pesky Adept shenanigans. OH and spellcasters are the hottness now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OH and spellcasters are the hottness now.

 

Unless you in Tulsa where there is a magical barrier in place to prevent spellcasters from ever successfully casting a spell. :grr:

 

:devil:

 

:lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct, we didn't print core rulebook SAs in the Savage North book unless SN models actually had those SAs. I am unaware of any SAs being left out of the SN book that are in use though. Would love to find out about it to correct in future printings!

This looked like a good excuse to study the rules more thoroughly (and provide a useful outlet for whatever OCD issues I have... :rolleyes: )

 

I found eight SAs that are not repeated in the Savage North tome and nine new SAs that don't exist in the Taltos book. Just as Gus said.

 

I found one SA that is mentioned on a data card in the SN tome that refers to a SA that is only listed in the Taltos book. The SA? Non-Corporeal. Where? the data card (Spectral Minion) is in the Magic Spells section. So, Gus remains technically correct, none of the new SN models lack a special ability reference.

 

Musician is a SA listed in the SN tome but not in the Taltos book. I could not find a Data Card in the SN tome that used it. :unsure: Musician is also listed under Troop Equipment in both volumes. There has to be a SN data card that uses it because it specifically states that it can't stack with the equipment-based musician. (You can't have a drum corps... :down: )

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The gnome sister has musician as an SA.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The gnome sister has musician as an SA.

 

 

Musician SA is in the SN, but Martyr and Non-Corporial are not even though there are spells that allow those SA to be given SN minis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×