Possible mini (squad/unit) exchange

Mark Theurer

Hi all,

I've not run one of these before but have an idea for one that I'd like to try out if others are willing to participate. I've run math trades (yes, I know not really the same but similar enough to say I have some experience) for board games over on www.boardgamegeek.com (been quite a while though) so I feel that I can handle the trades part of this.

Anyway, my idea is to run a mini exchange/trade, but for whole units at a time. There would be criteria on numbers of models, genre, etc... but I'm thinking of it as painting and trading off a small-medium encounter's worth of painted figs to each person that participates. Since there would be multiple figures involved I'd say that a Jan-Feb-Mar timeline would be adequate but with each participant doing a progress check-in every three weeks (minimum, or more often if they want).

Basically, my first question would be, are there enough people that would be interested and committed to doing this? What do I mean by enough? Well, I'd love to see a dozen or more but think that 6 is a good starting point. I'll count me as #1 so what do y'all think?

Thanks,

Mark, RMTV

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, with three of us so far it's starting to come together. I'll start putting down some rules/criteria and hopefully we'll get some more that want to participate. Once we have enough people I'll put all of the rules/criteria together and we can get going.

Mark's 2011Q1 Squad/Unit Mini-Exchange

1. All minis must start as Reaper figures. Conversions are allowed, but no more than 25% of a figure can be non-Reaper. Just be reasonable here and everyone will be ok.

2. This is a unit/squad exchange that's supposed to net each participant a usable group of figures for gaming. A fairly rough estimate of what constitutes a unit/squad is...

- 3-5 man/orc/gnoll/bugbear/etc... sized miniatures