Sign in to follow this  
Earthcrosser599

Starting Up Warlord...Only One Question

Hello,

A friend and I were looking at getting into Warlord since we both do a lot of painting Reaper models. I'm a veteran of HordesMachine, 40k, Warhammer Fantasy, and some of the GW skirmish games, so I'm not new to wargaming. The rules look pretty simple, which is a nice change of pace from other games.

I was looking at the Overlords to start with, since I really like General Matisse and the Onyx Phalanx figures, though the Bloodstone Gnomes are also tempting since I enjoy playing gnomes in D&D.

The only real question I had was concerning unit positioning. Is there any form of unit coherency in Warlord? Do your troops have to move in big blocks like Warhammer fantasy, or do they move like skirmishers, staying within an inch or so of each other?

Okay.

How do people keep track of what model belongs to which troop? My first impression was to paint a stripe or something on their bases, but then with the amount of customization in army construction that seems like it'd only work if I had a static list.

The only real question I had was concerning unit positioning. Is there any form of unit coherency in Warlord? Do your troops have to move in big blocks like Warhammer fantasy, or do they move like skirmishers, staying within an inch or so of each other?

There is no cohesion in WL. You can place your models wherever you want on the field, and move them pretty much however and whenever you want in an activation. Some models, like the Phalanx (and other models in the Onyx Legion doctrine) benefit from ranking up. Other models, not so much.

~v

EDIT: And to answer your second question, I paint a white stripe on the back of my bases, then number the models. I can always then say, #1-5 are in troop 1

and #6-10 are in troop 2. Easy-peasy.

Edited by Shakandara