Hello! I just started painting and working with acrylic paints this month. Sharing my work so I can get some feedback and comments.

I just finished this pack of Kobolds this weekend. These little guys are Ben Stein's "Kobold Raiders" #02470. My D&D DM wanted reptilian kobolds rather than rat-like ones. I decided to speckled them and add some muddy brown over tones to make them more distinguished from green orcs and goblins. The small scale of these minis presented a challenge, but I'm pleased with the results.

Kobolds.jpg

Kobold6.jpg

Kobold5.jpg

This is a wizard I finished last weekend and my first attempt at painting a hero class. This mini was a gift, so I'm not sure of his origins. This was my first attempt at wet blending for shadows. I only own a very cheap set of craft acrylic paint from Michael's, so mixing colors for different shades was a learning experience for this mini. Overall, I think his color selection makes him look very regal. :)

Wizard1.jpgWizard2.jpg

And three weeks ago... the first group of minis I've ever painted. These are Bob Olley's "Orcs w/Spears" #06026. Because this was my first time painting I thought Orcs would be a safe bet because they are supposed to look a little rough around the edges. I didn't know what wet blending was, or how to paint eyes to name a few things. The idea was to pick up a paint brush and see what I could do. I normally work with pens and pencils on paper so painting was a new venture for me.

OrcRaidingParty.jpg

Comparing the orcs to the kobolds I just finished yesterday I'm happy with the progress I've made in a few short weeks, but there's a lot more to learn. Comments and suggestions would be great!