Sign in to follow this  
Arkayn

Basing Sand

Hey all, I'm trying to decide on some sand for basing my Warhammer 40k Orks onto. Was wondering what brand/type everyone uses (regular play sand, etc). Any help would be appreciated, as I would like to get this soon, so I can start working on more minis.

If I want a quick basing of sand, I get the fine sand from Michaels and mix in some larger grains that I buy from Woodland Scenics. I think that by adding different sized material randomly to the base, it gives a lot more interest to the eye. It costs a little more but once you have it, you will be set for quite a long time (I've been using my mix for over 3 years now).

I also do the same for quick flocking on bases. Get a few colours and grades, mix them up, and you have a more interesting base.

I cast Hirst Arts molds to make terrain. Another trick I do is keep all the plaster flash that comes off and use this in basing my WW2 figures. With a quick wash, it looks like rubble.

Are you going to paint the sand or just use it straight up? If you go with paint I suggest using pumice gel as it doesn't flake off like regular sand. if you plan to just stick to sand, I will agree with the above posters.

I use play sand. It's cheap and easy to find, and after you fill a small container for basing you have lots left to put on the front steps in winter. It's fine enough to make a nice base, but it has coarse bits in it if you want to add 'rocks'. And it's usually washed, unlike sand you might get off the street which can have oil or other chemicals in it.

I'm fortunate enough to live near a beach, so just use beach sand. It's free and comes in a variety of grain sizes, and one large margarine tub lasts me several years!