Talae

The New Guy - Just Starting Out

So, like many others, I pitched in for the amazing Kickstarter deal. I have spent the last week or so with a starter kit I bought from my FLGS plus some minis I have from when I was a kid. I have no experience whatsoever and have never painted anything until this week. Here are some pictures of what I have done so far. I am looking for any advice that you have for me and also to say thank you for having such wonderful guides and whatnot that I have begun pouring through.

Please forgive the image quality, as the lightning wasn't great and they were taken with my phone. Also, I did not resize/crop/edit them, so hopefully they acceptable.

Very first mini (came in the starter pack):

http://www.worldwork...file.php?id=438

http://www.worldwork...file.php?id=437

Minotaur from Warhammer Quest:

http://www.worldwork...file.php?id=436

http://www.worldwork...file.php?id=435

Goblins from Warhamer Quest:

http://www.worldwork...file.php?id=434

I'd recommend posting these in the Show Off section of the Craft Corner with a request for critique if you are looking for comments or advice.

They may get missed here.

In terms of feedback.

I would look to invest in a set of needle files to help you remove the mold lines. It just helps clean up the mini and will make the finished product look nicer. You don't seem to be using primer, or are selectively using a brush on primer. If you are not using a primer, I highly recommend it. If you are painting on metal, and do not prime, the paint will easily be rubbed off with even casual table top use. There is not a lot of paint slopped all over, so that is a good thing, especially on some of the finer detail spots like the knight's shield. Your brush control is good.

For a first start you're on the right road. Once you're feeling comfortable with just a simple basecoat, you can start trying to add highlights/shadows to your colors to make the details stand out more.