Sign in to follow this  
Pingo

60079: Lyrie Akenja

This is almost my first mini in 20 years. I painted one batch in a burst of renewed enthusiasm last month, then decided I wished to hunker down and really try to improve (yeah, they weren't that great).

This mini was one of the most notable failures last month, so I stripped off its paint and am trying again.

I don't know much about painting minis beyond what I knew twenty years ago, using artists' acrylics mixed myself, with some washes. But I am an artist, so I know a lot of the technicalities of paint and painting on the macro scale. Maybe I can help or get help translating it to the micro.

To begin with, I only have artists' acrylics and various mediums to mix them with. For now, please assume I can't easily get my hands on paint formulated especially for miniatures.

post-8022-0-74116700-1347717950.jpg

(There is no actual orange or yellow on the mini; that's a side effect of the lighting which I plan to fix in later photos).

The priming is several coats of Golden brand titanium white thinned with its matte medium (which I am finding insufficiently matte). I did not go for an opaque white coat, just complete coverage. I brushed, of course, instead of sprayed.

I started with the lining of her cape. I'm planning to do her in muted earth tones, but I wanted a bit of purple. The cape is going to be white lined with a muted purple (I've seen one like that in real life; it was gorgeous). The color is a mix of Winsor & Newton ultramarine violet, a beautiful color but very transparent and rather weak (i.e. it gets subsumed easily in color mixes), mixed with Golden burnt sienna and titanium white.

I used the transparency to shade the folds, but I'm not sure I like the effect. Also, in the photo I notice I've missed a bit in the hood by her left cheek, which I'll have to fix.

Any comments would be appreciated.

• Like 1