Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
kyaakone

Counting summoned creatures that do not start play summoned

Recommended Posts

When building an army, I have assumed that whether or not a model starts play summoned or not has no affect on how it is counted toward min/max requirements (or any other portion of army building requirements). For example, a soldier with the Summoned SA that I intend on starting play unsummoned must still be associated with a specific troop and adhere to that troop leader's minimum and maximum soldier count; even if they are eventually summoned by a model in a completely different unit. A concrete example might be:

 

Troop 1

Mi'sher (3-6/1)

Anubis Guard x 3

 

Troop 2

Chosen of Sokar (3-8/1)

Daughter of Sekhmet x 3

Fatima

 

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the following are true:

(1) This is a legal army (albeit small and I haven't bothered to calculate the cost).

(2) I can choose to have some or all of the Anubis Guard start the game Unsummoned; even if at the start of the game there are less than 3 soldiers on the table with Mi'sher, it is still a legal build.

(3) During gameplay, Fatima is the only model that is capable of summoning the Anubis Guard, at which point they will join Troop 2, not Troop 1.

 

The opposite would also apply. The following would not be legal:

 

Troop 1

Mi'sher (3-6/1)

Daughter of Sekhmet x 6

Anubis Guard x 3 (but they will start the game unsummoned)

 

Troop 2

Tariq (4-6/1)

Daughter of Sekhmet x 6

Fatima

 

(4) claiming that the Anubis Guard will start the game unsummoned doesn't bring the total number of soldiers below the maximum, even though when the are summoned during gameplay they will join Troop 2.

 

 

Thanks for helping me with this clarification and sorry if it repeats an earlier forum post.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On page 41 of the Warlord Second Edition book, under "Summoned" it states that "If the summoned model is not a Solo model, it automatically joins the summoning model's Troop, ignoring Troop Capacity." Hope that helps you out.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
(1) This is a legal army (albeit small and I haven't bothered to calculate the cost).

(2) I can choose to have some or all of the Anubis Guard start the game Unsummoned; even if at the start of the game there are less than 3 soldiers on the table with Mi'sher, it is still a legal build.

(3) During gameplay, Fatima is the only model that is capable of summoning the Anubis Guard, at which point they will join Troop 2, not Troop 1.

<snip>

(4) claiming that the Anubis Guard will start the game unsummoned doesn't bring the total number of soldiers below the maximum, even though when the are summoned during gameplay they will join Troop 2.

 

You are correct on all counts. Working backwards (from point #4), the army must be legal when you build it, regardless of what happens with it on the table at the time of game play. Fatima is indeed the only summoner in the first list, and as Sentinel quoted above, anything not a Solo joins the summoner's troop, regardless of whatever consequence that has. The build is legal, even if you begin with the Anubii unsummoned (though you may run in to house rulings on this from time to time). And yes, the first list is legal, because that is determined when you build it, not when you deploy it.

 

~v

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...