Sign in to follow this  
Thrym

02828: Thornback Troll as a Fell Ogre

I found this guy in the clearance bin at my FLGS.

post-7739-0-58394100-1354065417_thumb.jpg

When I started painting him, I decided he was more Ogre like than Troll for my campaigns. And with the thorny back he must be some kind of demon/devil spawned version so I went red-skinned.

The skin is patchy in places with a ruddy orange.

And I decided on the eye style after watching an episode of FaceOff on Syfy.

He's painted tabletop level IMO and using washes over solids with some highlighting. I used a micro pen to create some veining effects on his skin.

The wood club has been painted to resemble a piece of a stalactite/stalagmite to keep the cave feeling of the base.

The figure is covered in a matte varnish for toughness. I just finally picked up a can of Dullcote to bring the shine back down.

I am comfortable with the piece as is for the players to be afraid of but C&C is always welcome and will be applied going forward.

And yes, I know, better pics will help. I have a camera coming for Christmas. :;):

To see additional photos (like a WIP) check out either the Facebook Album or Google+ Post.

• Like 5

I think the teeth and spikes could be a little more dirty.

I think the whites just got blown out by the camera (my phone). They have a bit of yellowing on the teeth and claws. The thorns on his back have a bit of the ruddy orange nearer the base leading up to a plain ivory. I'll see about revisiting them before I hit the piece up with Dullcote.

I painted this awhile ago (pre-KS) and have been busy doing assembly and basing for the plethora of unfinished figures.

Thanks to both of you for your comments.