I'm a newish painter, and have a bunch of projects that I'm working on. I'm working on extending my range of skills beyond "slop on some paint." To that end, I would like to share some of my current projects and ask if any of the wise and talented folks here could give me a few pointers the next step.

First up is the Skinsaw Man http://www.reapermini.com/OnlineStore/skinsaw/sku-down/60033

He's my oldest project here, and he definitely needs highlighting. He's been washed in black ink (maybe a bad idea). At this point, I had been using poorly-to-non-thinned P3 paints. He might be due for a dunk in the start over bucket.

post-8340-0-95517200-1355981128.jpg

post-8340-0-96855600-1355981130.jpg

Edited by gmpathfinder
  • Like 3

The principle difference between the teeth on your mimic and the teeth on my otyugh below is a coat of Army Painter quickshade dark on the whole fig.

http://www.thearmypainter.com/videogallery.php?videoid=2

http://www.thearmypainter.com/videogallery.php?videoid=3

8207514425_bdb558a4d2.jpg

A dark wash would also do the trick. You got nice base coats down, just need to get the shadows and highlights in there. Have fun with it.

Edited by badocter
  • Like 1

It's a good idea to ask yourself what your "next step" should be. Are you after "good quality tabletop" or "Golden Demon winner?" Or somewhere between?

For tabletop use, a dark wash or dip plus a drybrushed round of highlights will be great. Your minis look pretty solid, with a reasonable attention to detail and good brush control. Doing a little to deepen the shadows and pop the highlights will do plenty, and you'll have minis that look good on the tabletop.

If you're hoping to go a little beyond that, I think your next step is greater attention to detail (frex, you can see skinsaw's pants through a split in his coat, but you painted that leg coat-color), and thinner paints to start layering and glazing. This will make your minis look great at a closer viewing.