Sign in to follow this  
Risingdark

Basing Reaper Miniatures

Hey guys, I am new to the reaper boards, and miniatures in general. I've collected them for a few years (for gaming campaigns), but just recently started painting, and taking some interest in basing. That said, I have no idea what I am doing! The minis already have small bases as part of the figure, so I am wondering how to base these. Do I cut away the metal base it comes with? If you can point me in the direction of a good guide, that would be wonderful.

Thanks,

Risingdark

There are a variety of options depending on how you plan to use them. If you are gaming, you may want to glue them onto bases of the size and shape called for in the ruleset you're using. You can just glue them down, or you can cut them off and pin the feet. Often it is a matter of personal preference, or skill, or the design of the mini. Some are easier to cut off than others, and some you will just mangle.

Welcome aboard!

There are a number of good resources out there, depending on how creative you want to be. If you'd like something easy, there are a number of pre-made bases from various companies that you can pick up. If you'd like to do a bit more work, you can use simple terrain such as static grass, or turf, wiuth a little PVA (re: elmers) glue, which can be found at most hobby stores. I believe The Craft section of this site has a an article or two on basing.

If you'd like to get more fancy still, there's plenty more you can do as well, the sky is really the limit.

• Like 1

Wow, some great feedback here, thank you. Those links are great kylons99, I can't wait to dig in! I'll be sure to post my first base job.

Cheers, and thanks again!