Miniatures collection reflection

Shakandara

In a little over a week, I'm moving. When Terri and I moved into this apartment 6 years ago, I was a pretty serious miniatures collector. I already had some rare stuff, and had even started going back and tracking down OOP stuff that I'd once owned and sold/lost, or always wanted to have. I had been sending stuff off for commission work for several years at that point, and the percentage of my collection that was painted was steadily growing. About 4 years ago, I did an inventory on my entire collection, and I've been good about keeping it up to date as stuff has been painted, new stuff has come in, and when stuff was traded away or sold.

I have 3 of the IKEA glass cases filled with painted miniatures on display, and hordes of stuff around my desk in various states of assembly. I also have somewhere around 17 miniature cases in varying sizes and designs. Between that, and the knowledge of my database on the collection, I thought I had a pretty good handle on what I had.

Boy was I wrong.

As I've been packing everything up, I'm being reminded over and over again that I've got some really cool stuff in my collection. Of course I'd think the stuff is cool (I did buy it after all, right?), and it's not that I was unaware of what I had, but the collection has reached the size where it is easy to lose sight of its scope, and it's been really fun reacquainting myself with the contents of the various drawers and boxes. It's caused me to reevaluate my priority list of the things that I wanted to have painted sooner rather than later. I find this especially amusing in light of the coming onslaught of the Bones, Demons & Devils, and DeepWars KS deliveries that I'll be receiving over the next couple months. Those will add no less than 600 more figures to the fold.

Anyway, just thought I'd share. When was the last time you really went through your collection?

~v

• Like 4

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply