Jump to content

Sign in to follow this  

Recommended Posts

I just threw some models down and played Necropolis on Sunday. We ran into a question regarding Vampire. My Crimson Knight was attacking an Elf model with Tough SA. At what point does the Free SA of Vampire kick in?

 

Example. Crimson Knight on his last track attacks the Tough Elf and does enough wounds to kill him. Does the Vampire ability kick in before the Elf's tough check? Does it kick in before defensive strikes?

 

Any help appreciated as I don't have my rulebook handy.

 

Cheers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Disclaimer: I also don't have my rulebook handy :mellow:

If I remember correctly, Vampire SA kicks in if you destroy a model so it would have to kick in after the tough check is made (and failed).

Since combat is effectively simultaneous I believe defensive strikes would have to come before the Vampire SA as they take place at the same time as your own strikes (the results of which trigger the SA).

Edited by Dan Goodchild

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm with you Dan, but does the free action kick in after the defensive strikes mean that it could save the Crimson Knight's bacon, or does he need to make his tough check too, and then feed?

 

Now that I'm typing this, I think I'm realizing how it works. :blush: D'oh!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To feed on a model, it must be destroyed. For the opposing model to be destroyed, it must have failed its Tough check (assuming it has Tough). For the Vampire to use an action (even a free one) it must be alive (well, not destroyed). Therefore, to feed, if a Vampire has been "killed" by Defensive Strikes, it must first make its Tough check; if it succeeds, it can then feed as well.

 

EDIT: There is an official clarification for this as well.

 

~v

Edited by Shakandara

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To feed on a model, it must be destroyed. For the opposing model to be destroyed, it must have failed its Tough check (assuming it has Tough). For the Vampire to use an action (even a free one) it must be alive (well, not destroyed). Therefore, to feed, if a Vampire has been "killed" by Defensive Strikes, it must first make its Tough check; if it succeeds, it can then feed as well.

 

EDIT: There is an official clarification for this as well.

 

~v

 

Thanks all. It's what we figured, but in the heat of the game, I lost my brains. Damnable Elves took the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×