Corporea's Desk of Progress

• Replies 729
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Also working on another Bones Worm. This one is supposed to look like malachite and azurite (since they only differ by about 1 subscript and are often found together...)

inspiration courtesy of google images:

malachite3.jpgazurite.jpg

I'll try to do this one as a quick explanation WIP for any new Bones painters out there, although I've been snapping progress pics now for a few weeks.

I started with my inspiration, and washed my worm with soap and water. Then trimmed as many mold lines as I could with my xacto knife. Then put on a quick basecoat of 2 wet blended greens: grass green and viper green. No priming, just paint straight out of the bottle. I then did a wash to darken the creases with peacock green first, then vallejo dark blue. I started painting the belly with vallejo golden olive here as well, with some walnut brown at the edges. I also blended into the sides with dark blue.

mal1_zps2f1edda1.jpgmal2_zps0803ab1a.jpg

I did the edges between the belly and back with the dark blue. The I started outlining the pattern I wanted. I mixed the viper green with pure white, probably 80-20ish.

mal3_zpsfda5c08c.jpgmal4_zps16111c87.jpg

Then I started playing around with lots of greens. I mixed the peacock green, brilliant green and viper green all with some pure white or vallejo golden olive to flesh out the pattern.

mal5_zpse4050b2f.jpgmal6_zpsf355f8b3.jpgmal8_zps4e868473.jpg

I didn't like the speckled look, so painted over it. Next I started in on the pattern on the belly. I wanted it to be more of the yellow/golden side of malachite, but I need to increase the contrast because it seems very faint. It's done using mostly golden olive, walnut brown, and some viper green also a few areas mixed with pure white.

mal7_zpse68bb1b6.jpgmal9_zps8133dc7c.jpgmal10_zps22afd7a2.jpg