Most Popular Colours?

Hi folks,

I was wondering what Reaper's most popular paint colors were. As a new painter, I'm trying to select the colours that I will get the most mileage out of first rather than ones that I'll use only once.

I'm just wondering if it would be at all possible to list the 10 or 15 most popular requests. I have quickly discovered that Walnut Brown fairly ubiquitous, as it seems to be a workhorse like Devlan Mud used to be (quick wash shader, liner, base for leathers). Pure White and Black are likewise pretty handy, as they can brighten or darken almost everything.

Are there other colours that folks are getting tons of use out of? Reaperites, what colours are you buying constantly?

• Like 1

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well I just started painting this year, so I havn't really run out of anything yet.

I have a wider selection of browns than anything else.

3 browns, a tan + brown ink wash, 2 blacks + ink wash, 2 whites, 2 greens, 2 yellows, 3 flesh (triad)

I am running low only glossy black, as it goes into so many washes and shade layers.

Edited by Evilhalfling

Pure Black

Pure White

Walnut Brown

Linen White

I keep a paint case with all the paints I'm currently using, those four are permanently in there for warm and cool white/black. I've started to use creamy ivory after Anne was gushing about it on her DVD and DKS also uses it in his brown base recipe.

Oiled Leather is another good one. Brown Liner might be closer to devlan mud, I don't use GW paints :)

I've been doing nmm for about six months now, so the colors from L2PK3 have moved into residence in my case.

Brown Liner

Blue Liner

Creamy Ivory

Linen White

Ghost White

Muddy Brown/Earth Brown/Leather Brown

Woodstain Brown/Shield Brown/Driftwood Brown

Walnut Brown/Blackened Brown

Chestnut Gold

Those are the ones I replace the most.

Edited by TaleSpinner
  • Like 1