Sign in to follow this  
catdancer

Grenadier...Frost Giant (Fantasy Miniature)...# 3503

post-11942-0-01955200-1374978698_thumb.jpgpost-11942-0-90344000-1374978639_thumb.jpgpost-11942-0-74916800-1374978590_thumb.jpgpost-11942-0-28029800-1374978535_thumb.jpg

Since I am currently busy painting some older miniature (vintage, if you will) figures; I decided to take a piece from my private collection showcase and post it. This is the male Frost Giant by Grenadier (circa 1985). When I started painting miniature figures about 18 months ago; this was the 2nd figure that I selected to paint. I think this is one of the most beautiful fantasy figures (castings) that I have ever come across and I still love it today.

• Like 20

Nicely done. Still a big fan of blue skinned versions but since he has a blue beard so he'll do.

The armor and leather bands are very sharp looking. The only thing that stands out to me as needing a bit of a touch up is the definition on the axe head. Seems washed out. Some added contrast will make that thing look "sharp". Heh. I made a pun.

Kind of looking forward to repainting a similar version to this stance with some of my newer skills. Now that I think of it, I might even have this one.

So thanks for the impetus. Sadly I have to work instead of paint. :wacko:

• Like 1

Interesting choice for his skin colour, but I think you've painted him well. ::):

Quick question on your basing. Do you base all your minis to match your terrain? Or do you usually creating unique bases inspired by the mini?

• Like 1

Interesting choice for his skin colour, but I think you've painted him well. ::):

Quick question on your basing. Do you base all your minis to match your terrain? Or do you usually creating unique bases inspired by the mini?