theleast

theleast's thread of total noobary

I grew tired waiting for news of my kickstarter shipment, so I went a bought some Bones from a third party to practice on. I don't have many colours to choose from (since my Reaper paints haven't arrived) and most of what I do have is cheap artist's acrylic, so I decided to start with a fairly simple figure.

I present Barnabas, the rusty warrior:

post-12524-0-51241800-1375446725.jpgpost-12524-0-19494800-1375446724_thumb.jpg

Just by looking at the photos I'm seeing details I missed or screwed up, but I need broader feedback than just "You suck, give up now!". Please, critique away!

Edited by theleast
  • Like 13

No, that's actually looking pretty good. I'd get some thinned black and paint-in the shadows between plates in his armour, or experiment with a black wash.

Ideally a black wash would use some Flow Improver to make it "sit" down into the details better, getting the consistency JUST right is a bit of an art.

Do you have a brown you could use to pick out leather fittings? It might be tough to make it cover well, so maybe mix in a bit of white for a basecoat - white is meant to be opaque, but I really know very little about artist's acrylics.

You might find that with the greater transparency of artist's acrylics, you need to undercoat everything and do a couple of thinned coats. An airbrush medium might help with that, or google "LES airbrush medium recipe". Airbrush medium can also be used to change the way washes act, but I don't have much experience with that.