Sign in to follow this  
ArchaeoPaints

Starter paints

So, I'm a beginner. I had a friend who introduced me to painting, but he moved away shortly thereafter. Sadface. So I went to the local paint shop and bought myself basic red, blue, yellow, black and white (and pink, purple and a sparkly blue because I'm like that). I've also got thinner so I can make washes. I'm thinking that as I paint more, I'll want more colors - especially skin tones which I feel like will be hard to get right. I've got extremely limited funds, so I was looking for suggestions. Outside of primary colors, what would you suggest a beginner get? I've given myself an extremely generous budget of $20 a month (okay $25 if I get it from reaper to get free shipping), and I want to be able still afford minis after buying paint so I'm thinking three or four colors and then a couple of minis I've got my eye on.

If it's relevant, I don't play, I just paint, and I like the historical/fantasy types more than military etc.

• Like 4

Flesh colors, browns, and greens. Grays.

Before you hit up the local paint shop, I would have advised you to use your first month's $25 budget to buy a Reaper Learn to Paint Kit - http://www.reapermini.com/OnlineStore/Learn%20To%20Paint%20Kits/sku-down/08901 - which would have given you two starter brushes, two minis, the instructions to paint them, and an excellent starting array of paints. And then next month purchased kit 2, the month after kit 4, and then 5 and 3.

This is still an option, of course, but you're going to end up doubling your basic colors pretty quickly.

Edit: They still show the sample pots in the LTPK entries, but they haven't come with those for years. All of the kits are full dropper bottles of paint these days, making them a ridiculously good bargain - $30 worth of paint for $25.99, with free brushes, minis, and instructions, basically.

Edited by Last Knight
  • Like 5