Sign in to follow this  
JDWiker

Prepping Bones Minis: Buffing Block?

I started painting my first Bones mini last night (Mister Bones, appropriately enough), and I was able to use an X-Acto knife, needle files, and my trusty sanding sponge to fairly good effect, but because the sanding sponge is made for wood or metal, it was a bit crude for the task.

Then I remembered these things:

http://www.amazon.com/COSM-TRIM-Trim-Buffing-Block/dp/B001TSNGF8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377113332&sr=8-1&keywords=trim+buffing+block

I went out at lunchtime just now and picked one up at my neighborhood Target for about $2.50, and I'm going to try it out tonight.

Has anyone used one of these on plastic minis before? Any suggestions for technique, or warnings about what to expect?

Cheers.

JD

Not the blocks, but I have noticed that some of the sanding boards sold at hobby shops are very similar to nail buffing sticks, just often cut down to narrower forms. The nail buffers are certainly cheaper, but I have trouble thinking of a tool to use to cut them down to a usable size without trashing its blade on the abrasive surface.

Not the blocks, but I have noticed that some of the sanding boards sold at hobby shops are very similar to nail buffing sticks, just often cut down to narrower forms. The nail buffers are certainly cheaper, but I have trouble thinking of a tool to use to cut them down to a usable size without trashing its blade on the abrasive surface.

I would suggest a good pair of kitchen shears.

-Dave

• Like 1

-Dave

But would they REMAIN a good pair of shears?

I have used the sanding needles on Bones. In fact I gave some away at Rcon. I use the medium and the fine at the moment, though I am thinking of testing the coarse.

• Like 1

Sanding needles have been tested to work on Bones (not by me, however). I have tested them on metal, and they work on that. I found mine at Hobby Lobby with the model paints and accessories.

^^^This^^^