Disabled Painters and Advice

This thread is designed to advice to disabled people in the hobby. In starting this thread a free exchange of solutions are offered to those posting with difficulties in painting.

Starting off ...I am new to painting and disabled. My Cerebral Palsy makes holding minis somewhat difficult while painting. Admitidlly, my CP is mild compared to most but fine muscle and motor control is a problem. Thus far, many suggested in my other post, http://www.reapermini.com/forum/index.php?/topic/52019-getting-started/ the use of poster puddy stuck on a graspable surface (upside mud, pill bottle, and wooden doll) tends to work best.

Bracing your brush hand against the table's edge is another idea that has been offered. I am curious to try it when my figures come in next week.

For those who cannot hold the brush, a thought I had was a duplicate to the above but add your brush to the buddy.

Are there any other ideas or methods that you can suggest?

• Like 4

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Something like this? 

I use one simply because I am so ridiculously right handed it helps to have something clamped around the mini while I paint.  FYI I pad my alligator clips because they do grip firmly enough to potentially scar either a bones or metal miniature.

I am not sure if this would help if you were also trying to paint by holding the brush with something else, but I have worked with a couple of folks who had CP and they both had full use of one hand.  I do not know if this is commonly the case, but I'm thinking for someone like yourself it should really do well.

Plus the magnifying glass is nice.  I thought I had good eyesight until I started painting again :-)

Edited by Qwyksilver
Removed link to commerce sight. Linked directly to image.
  • Like 3